My Reviews (117)

Zucchini Crumble

This is an apple crumble recipe with a difference - no apples! Uses zucchini instead. Cooked with sugar and spices like a normal apple crumble, it makes an easy and cheap dessert especially when zucchinis are in season.
Reviews (117)


06 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Clarefisher
I made this a couple of day's ago. Had friends fooled although they said it could do with more apple as it is rather mild. They were suprized when I told them it was zucchini. Next time I make this I will add 1 sliced cooking apple and a pinch of ground cloves to give it more flavour. Like I do with a choko recipe I make as apple pie.
 
Comment:
19 Jun 2011
Clarefisher said:
This is better the following day reheated. Tastes more apple- ly than freshly cooked. Great for a bring to a party plate. Really is nice. freezes well too
 
24 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: CHERYLLBLOUNT
I made zucchini apple pie before, but this is the best dessert recipe for zucchini. I substituted 1/2 cup oatmeal for 1/2 cup of the flour and I also put chopped walnuts (1/2 cup) on top. Absolutely wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: MATHGOD
Awesome! I added quite a bit more zucchini than the recipe called for and cut the sugar in the topping down to 1 cup. I also substituted 2 cups of oats for 2 cups of flour and used whole wheat pastry flour for the rest to give it more fiber.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: Gordon
Absolutely FABULOUS! My 80 yr. old neighbor accross the street grows zucchini every year because his wife likes them. He will not eat zucchini in any form--ends up giving most of the zucchini to neighbors. I took some of this cobbler to them, and just told them it was a delicious cobbler--then told him to tell me what kind of cobbler it was. Of course he said "Apple". When I told him it was zucchini, he wouln't believe me. I had to go accross the street and bring the recipe to show him. His wife now has the recipe, and he might eventually try zucchini in other tasty dishes. A real hit with everybody who has tried it. Thanks Beverly for sharing this delicious recipe. Gordon
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: MEAN WOMAN
This is wonderful! Frost killed all our apples this year, but the zucchini is plentiful. I have found I like it better if I only make half the crust mix and put it all on the top. The bottom seems to get doughy and mushy by the second day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: IRISHMAIDEN
This was very tasty! It even fooled my husband who doesn't like zucchini AT ALL. I did make this more like an apple crisp, with the topping only on top and oatmeal for some of the flour. If you're thinking of making it this way you may want to lessen the topping ingredients. There was way too much and I froze almost half. Also, the zucchini really reduces in size and the next time I make it I will use all 5 cups for an 8x8 dish, not a 9x13.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: DAISIEB
I found that this recipe worked best with the over sized zucchini. the smaller variety seemed to have a more bitter taste. everyone who has tasted it was amazed tht it was made with zucchini.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: LAUREN003
I am shocked. My husband is shocked. I am amazed how cooking zucchini in lemon juice could make it taste like a tart apple! The texture was the same because I halved, seeded and sliced the veggie pretty thin. I also used half brown sugar an half white because I love the flavor that brown adds, along with 1/2 of the flour replaced with quick oats. Even when eating the zucchini pieces without any crumb topping at all, it is EXACTLY like an apple. Who knew?! Also, this dessert is not too sweet. I keep walking in to taste it and can't believe it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: SOCAL REINER
Comfort food at its best! Serve warm with a little pitcher of heavy cream or vanilla ice cream. Recipe needs a pinch of salt in the flour mix and and like some of the other reviewers suggested, more zucchini. I cut back on the butter and it was still really good. Do not taste the zucchini while it is cooking (gross), just make this recipe and trust those who gave it 5 stars. Save your secret until everyone is licking their plates!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes