My Reviews (27)

Fresh Rice Paper Rolls

You can find rice paper roll wrappers in supermarkets. These spring rolls make a delicious and healthy alternative from the fried kind.
Reviews (27)


23 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: tdoan
Take it from a vietnamese cook, you NEVER add fish sauce to a spring roll. You use a mixture of peanut butter, hoisin sauce, water, sauteed minced garlic for a dipping sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: KC192
VERY IMPORTANT: there are 2 kinds of spring roll wrappers! DO NOT get the kind made of wheat flour from the freezer section that look like egg roll wrappers! Rice wrappers are thin, clear, and feel just like a dry noodle. In fact, the asian store I went to stocked the wrappers in the noodle aisle. You just have to moisten the wrapper in hot water for a second or two, NOT 20. It will feel hard but by the time you layer the ingredients it will have softened. Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: momof4
wonderful recipe- just like my favorite vietnamese restaurant! Try wrapping them in additional mint and butterleaf lettuce leaves before dipping them in peanut sauce, mmmm..makes a wonderful, healthy meal-
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: NiniBean
Excellent directions for handling the rice wrappers. I filled them with shredded Chinese cabbage and finely sliced shrimp, jalapenos, scallion, carrots, peppers, and alfalfa sprouts, cilantro and mint. Made a tasty dipping sauce with juice of one lime mixed with Hoisin sauce. They were a big hit with my dinner guests. This is an interesting substitute for a salad course.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: KMckaig
Firstly, great simple directions on rolling rice wrappers. I got better the more carefully I followed them. The recipe is perfect, but I did add grated carrots and julienned English cucumbers. I like "Best Peanut Sauce" on this site, for dipping.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: megnrn
Excellent. Very easy to make and even kept fresh for a day or so in the fridge. I did watch a video on u-tube on how to assemble them. (the visual helped me).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: heyjude5135
I was glad to learn how to make spring rolls! Always wanted to know how to do it! I would change a couple of the ingredients though. I would skip the rice noodles and fish sauce! Instead next time I think I will add some sliced cucumbers and shredded carrots! I just gave each roll a little dash of the fish sauce, and they turned out rather salty! That's why I would skip the fish sauce! But thanks for sharing the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: reynan
i've been to vietnam recently... your recipe tastes exactly the one i ate there! good !!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2007
Reviewed by: joypip
These are good. Fresh and healthy. I have been making spring rolls for a few years and I always put in carrot and a fresh basil leaf. Great to dip in peanut or hoisin sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Nguyet
Spring rolls are supposed to be deep fried. These are salad rolls. But other than that, these are delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes