My Reviews (121)

Almond Biscotti with Cranberries

Lovely easy to make biscotti which sliced almonds. If you prefer a stronger almond flavour, use almond essence instead of vanilla.
Reviews (121)


Comment:
21 Jul 2008
ABISHOP said:
Used different ingredients. I substituted three quarters of the sugar with Splenda with excellent results. They are outstanding!!
 
29 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: auli230
I have made a lot of biscotti for my bakery cafe, this is such a simple recipe and the results were just as pictured above. The only thing I changed was I put whole skin on almonds, they are sliced before the second bake anyway.
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2008
Used different ingredients. This is so easy (for biscotti). I added 1 t. cinnamon and 1/2 t nutmeg, and used dried instead of fresh cranberrys. This was a welcome recipe that I didn't have to struggle with broken pices at all.
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: CDB60
Excellent! I forgot to put the cranberries and almonds in, but I had already put onto the baking tray, so I sprinkled some almonds on top (I had used almond extract) and baked them anyway. Then I made a second batch with the cranberries and almonds and vanilla extract, and both turned out very very good!
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: REBECCA SCOTT
Perfect recipe. I used a little bit of butter on my hands when shaping the two loaves and that worked beautifully. This is an excellent recipe and I would highly recommend it. Don't change a thing other than making a different variation such as orange peel and chopped dates, maybe???
 
22 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: gmclearn
This is what traditional biscotti is *supposed* to taste like. Biscotti is not supposed to have oils or fats in them and are supposed to be one of the more nutritious cookies that you can make as a result. With that said, I have made this recipe a dozen or so times and I have added a few things that others may find handy: 1) You can "knead" the cookie dough in the bowl you are working with. You may need to wet your hands to avoid copious amounts of batter sticking to you. 2) Add the almonds and cranberries to the dry ingredients as it is far easier to incorporate them into the dry than the wet. 3) Add lemon zest or orange zest to the mix to make the cookies even more aromatic and enjoyable. 4) Instead of the "logs" that are suggested, create 2 giant cookies about 5-6 inches in diameter. Put them on baking paper to ease in cleanup and removal. The cookies will be cut in straight lines and result in large biscotti instead of smallish ones. With a circle, there is not need to cut on a bias, since any angle is straight in a circle. 5) If your fingers can stand it (or use an oven mit), cut the biscotti into fingers almost immediately upon removing them from the oven. The biscotti will still be soft enough not to crumble when you cut them and you can save 10 minutes of cooling time. 6) Ensure that the second time you bake them, you lay the fingers bottom-down instead of possibly on their sides. This will prevent uneven browning on the sides. 7) Coat with chocolate o
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: STEPH577
When I first made these, I had never done biscotti before, and I was afraid they would be a flop, but they were GREAT! I used the almond extract, and the only thing you need to do to these that is not in the recipie is to knead them for a few minutes when they are in the two seperate logs, or else the dough is a bit crumbly and unmanagable. I have made these twice now, and the second time, I dipped oneend in chocolate and gave them away to friends around the holidays, so pretty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: STARBUCKS-GIRL
I didn't like this one at all. I've made many different kinds of biscotti before, and I thought this one sounded strange without any butter or oil in it, but figured I'd give it a try anyhow. My first instinct was right though. The texture was not at all good, and they seemed stale later that afternoon already.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: laetchison
Excellent! I forgot to put the cranberries and almonds in, but I had already put the logs onto the cookie sheet, so I sprinkled some almonds on top (I had used almond extract) and baked them anyway. Then I made a second batch with the cranberries and almonds and vanilla extract, and both turned out very very good! HINTS: 1.) Like the previous reviewer said, just knead the dough before shaping it, making it all stick together. That adds a little love to the recipe too, I'm sure it makes it taste extra special 2.) Try using SUGAR instead of flour to cover the surface you shape it on. This gives it a nice crystallized, slightly sweet texture to the outside and gives it the extra "oomph" that separates it from other biscotti recipes! THANKS for a great recipe - I'll be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: Norma Horan
I substituted three quarters of the sugar with Splenda with excellent results. They are outstanding!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes