My Reviews (201)

Spicy Chicken Soup with Tortillas

This is a Mexican soup with a kick! Of course you can always reduce the amount of chilli to your own taste. Fried tortilla strips make a tasty garnish.
Reviews (201)


06 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Bubba's Mom
This soup was so good, and very easy to make. I used a rotisserie chicken (the whole thing, which was a bit much, next time I will add another can of tomatoes to thin soup a little) I also didn't have canned tomatoes with chilis in them ( impossible to find Rotel in Toronto) so I just used regular canned diced tomatoes and add a bunch of jalopenos from a can. I went light on the cayenne (1/4 tsp) because I was making it for my parents and didn't want it to be too spicy for them. I also took a flour tortilla, sprinkled some chili powder on it, cut it into thin strips, and baked it for a few minutes. I topped the soup with aged cheddar, sour cream, sliced avocado, cilantro and a couple of the the tortillas strips arranged artfully on top. It looked like soup at a fancy restaurant and the taste was awesome. I had it three times last week and have been craving it ever since. You won't be disappointed. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: patriotizm
I did not start out to make this particular recipe, but found I didn't have the ingredients needed for my other one. This was really, really good. Tortilla soup is one of those things that is hard to get right, especially if you're from San Antonio; it needs to be spicy, yet flavorful and above all, authentic. I can't believe Ro-Tel and canned chilis can be this perfect...I may never try that other recipe with fresh tomatoes and jalapenos. I served it over tortilla chips instead of frying the tortillas.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: CHELS
Followed the recipe as it is, and it turned out great! Not for the faint of heart, as it is very spicy...luckily we like a little extra kick. Next time I might try adding some corn or avocado.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: LisaDee
Wow, this was really good. I made the following modifications: I used only 2 chicken breasts and then added one can each of black beans and corn. I also doubled the amount of broth. I excluded the cayenne pepper and I'm glad I did because it had the perfect amount of heat for our tastes. It would have been much too hot for us with the cayenne. I used blue corn chips rather than cooking my own tortillas and added extra chopped cilantro as a garnish. Delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Teresa
Delicious! Baking the tortillas is a healthier alternative to frying them. Try avocado, sharp cheddar cheese & add more cayenne pepper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Sep 2000
Reviewed by: Doug Matthews
This has become a fall and winter staple in our household with a few twists. I use vegetable broth instead of chicken broth - a can of peeled plum tomatos and I throw in a avocado in the last stages of simmering. Serve it with the basil, roasted pepper, monterey jack cornbread from breadrecipe,com and you have a great meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Rhianna
Very good, but better the next day. I garnished the soup with blue corn tortilla chips & cheddar cheese, because I prefer my tortilla soups that way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Holly
I Love this recipe. I always add frozen corn for the last 15 minutes, which I think works really well in this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: Barbara North
This was fantastic! I made this for Father's Day this year, and everyone loved it! I cooked the chicken breasts in chicken broth, and I served it with some sour cream in addition to the cheese and tortilla strips. It was even better the next day! Goes great with corn muffins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: STORMIBB2
This recipe is excellent!!! I only used two chicken breasts instead of four, I also added salt to taste. This made enough for my husband and myself for two meals. The flour tortillas are a nice change from the normal corn. My husband likes the flour ones but not the corn, so this is just perfect. This would be really great with black olive slices added at the last minute also. I did add extra lime juice, just a personal preference. This is a great recipe. It is very spicy with the cumin and cayenne pepper. If children will be eating you might want to half the amounts on these two. Thank you for the fabulous recipe Sheila!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes