My Reviews (23)

Sundried Tomato and Pine Nut Stuffed Eye Fillet

This roast is easy to prepare for a dinner party and the stuffing is versatile enough to be used with lamb, if you prefer.
Reviews (23)


15 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Ambrosia
I made this with my Hunny for Valentines. We both agreed it was by far the best steak we had ever eaten, after recounting all the expensive nights out where filet mignon was served (we used filet mignon not a big tenderloin). The stuffing flavors were to die for, but I did make a few changes. I did not use the bread crumbs. Instead I took some cooked black rice from another meals leftovers, sweetened it a touch and pureed it with pinenuts to match the measurements of the bread crumbs. Obviously this made a big diffrence, but I really recomend it, IT WAS SOOO GOOD! We drank pink champgne and laughed with every bite! It was THAT good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Ann Shallcross
Perfect today for Christmas Eve dinner. Had to cook a bit longer but perhaps my roast was a little larger. Added a tablespoon of oil from the sun-dried tomatoes to make slightly more moist. I also used panko bread crumbs which I swear by. I would make again and again. That's how good it is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Lyrain
IT was a nice tenderloin but the pine nuts were a little salty to me for some reason. I will make it again but maybe leave out the pine nuts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Weasel
Very nice stuffing. However, to prevent the meat from getting dry, I put puff pastry around the meat. Just roll it out slightly (otherwise you loose all the 'puff'), and put it around the meat. Put it on a rack to prevent the dough of getting soggy on the bottom. Depending on the size of the meat, the pastry and the meat should be done at the same time (about 20 minutes).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2013
Reviewed by: suerte126
I was very disappointed, considering the cost of this meal. It was dry, not as flavorful as I had hoped, and not worth the over-$100 I spent for a 5-lb. tenderloin and the stuffing. Next time I am sticking with a juicier crock pot recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: itslikehome
Absolutely Fantastic! I added in one extra teaspoon of oil from the sun dried tomatoes to the stuffing, everything else was the same as the recipe. This will now be a standard on Christmas Eve!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: warmkindsage
My partner and and I thought this was an outstanding recipe, and neither of us are big beef lovers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: GCPate
We love a tenderloin - but this comes out dry. I have made it twice first time the only modification was to leave out the pine nuts because one of the guests had an allergy. It was dry - I followed the recipe again the 2nd time cutting down the bread to 1/2 cup and adding in the pine nuts - still dry. we like our meat very rare and I think the cooking temp/time is for medium to well done. If we try again we will reduce cooking time and temperature.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Tricia Jaye
Didn't care for it too much. Center seemed rather dry!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Katrina Vondra
Wonderful recipe and the "stuffing" is versatile enough to use with lamb too. Perfect for a special dinner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes