My Reviews (151)

Prawn Stuffed Eggplant

Prawns and basil make a delicious stuffing for baked eggplant. Serve as a healthy but filling main dish accompanied by risoni and a green salad.
Reviews (151)


07 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Ducati996
My girlfriend made this recipe with some of our home-grown eggplants. She's a big fan of eggplant and she's been looking for more ways to get me to eat them. I have to say, if she keeps making eggplant recipes like this one, I'll be a fan in no time! The flavor of the stuffing was great and the shrimp was a nice added bonus. We have quite a few more eggplants in the garden, so I look forward to eating this dish again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Diana
Fantastic!! I made a few changes. First since my eggplants were small, I made this a casserole by cutting up the entire eggplant. I first carmelized the chunks of it in garlic and olive oil. Removed from pan. Then added the shrimp. Added this to a casserole dish with all other ingredients plus chopped curly parsley and chopped roasted red peppers. Baked for 20 min. Delicious!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: swtdrms81
Maybe I did something wrong but mine was pretty tasteless and mushy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: NERDYCHEESECAKE
This was pretty good. I really enjoyed the 'stuffing' part -- the shell of the eggplant wasn't very good to me, but maybe I don't like eggplant as much as I thought. I added mushrooms, onion, and red pepper to the stuffing mixture, and used a little less bread crumbs. That part was really good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: slfortson
I really thought this was going to be a bigger hit with my family. I was looking for something different to do. I thought it smelled really good, and didn't taste bad, but my husband hated the consistency of it. My son wouldn't even touch his half. The slimy texture of the eggplant mixture turned them off. Of course, I followed the recommendations of all of the other reviewers to decrease the breading by half and double the shrimp, so maybe I should have kept the breading. I also added extra garlic and onions too. If it were just me, I'd probably make this again, but due to lack of enthusiasm with the rest of my family, I think I will try some different recipes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Hannah Roddy
This recipe is really good. I made a few changes that others had suggested. I added mushrooms, onions, extra garlic, 1/2 the breadcrumbs. Instead of stuffing the eggplant shells with the mixture, I peeled and chopped the eggplant and added the mixture to a casserole dish. I sprinkled mozzarella cheese over it and baked it for the specified time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Jeannette Beck
Made as written with a few changes in the method. Added the shrimp and the basil later so not to cook too long. We liked it but thought it could use a kick... perhaps more garlic or a dash of red pepper flakes. Nice way to use eggplant!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: dee
Made this recipe and can agree with the people who did not care for this meal. It was way too salty with the combination of seasoned bread crumbs, shrimp and parmesan cheese. Also, there are too many bread crumbs. My family liked all of the ingredients, just not this combination altogether.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Chef T50
Great recipe! really enjoed it. Made a little change, added crabmeat in addition to the shrimp. And mixed in shredded chesese .Not to much to over power eggplant What a great flavor!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: DfromATX
Excellent recipe! I took the advice of others and added twice as much shrimp and half the bread crumbs and it was delicious! It's a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes