My Reviews (151)

Prawn Stuffed Eggplant

Prawns and basil make a delicious stuffing for baked eggplant. Serve as a healthy but filling main dish accompanied by risoni and a green salad.
Reviews (151)


22 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Kym Cox Surridge
I did the math using Calorie King, and yes, these nutritional info numbers are accurate if you use the full amount of olive oil and bread crumbs, which is where the bulk of the calories comes from (480 and 214 per serving, respectively). But really, 1/2 cup olive oil and 1 cup bread crumbs? I wouldn't use that anyway. I used less than half the olive oil and about 1/3 cup bread crumbs, and I added more shrimp, and this was delicious. I also used regular bread crumbs seasoned with fresh oregano, and about 1/3 cup Parmesan (the full amount is 108 cal per serving). I'd definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Legomom
Truckerdoo... you rock my world! I adore eggplant.. any way, shape or form! And this recipe is awesome! I reduced the bread crumbs as well. I added some crabmeat with the shrimp and some mushrooms I had left in the fridge as well as half a pepper that was lying in there too begging to be used up. I love this recipe and it has become my mainstay for weekends when my kids are at their dads. Thanks for a great eggplant recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Ms. Lillian
Definately a keeper! I added a small onion, about 1/3 of a green pepper, and about 4 chopped garlic cloves. Also used approximately 1/2 the amount of bread crumbs called for. Next time I will add mushrooms too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Patti Ott
I'm very new at this "cooking thing," ha! But I found this recipe very easy, especially with all the advice from others!! This was very very good, surprised myself! I also did half the bread crumbs, added spinach, portabello mushrooms and a little bit of red onion. Thank you for the help!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Dean Cannon
This was pretty good the first time I made it...but it seemed to be lacking flavor. So I made it again and tweeked it by cutting down on bread crumbs and adding more shrimp, chopped sweet onion, diced zucchini, diced red bell pepper, and a little mild ground italian sausage. I also added an egg to the stuffing to bond it. The extra flavor really kicked it into gear.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2008
Reviewed by: LuvChanSe
It was ok. I think its a texture thing for me. It's like when you have too much stuffing (bread crumb) in your crab cakes. I can hardly taste the shrimp and eggplant. Next time..... definitely less bread crumb!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Bobw
Excellent flavor. To dry and crumbly, could not taste the shrimp and tasted too much of olive oil. My next, I will use 1/2 plain bread crumbs, 1/2 oil, 2x shrimp. saute onion, bell Pepper & celery. Will also add cajun seafood seasoning inlieu of salt&pepper..I will do this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: BudsGurls
I'm gonna give this 4 stars because it inspired me...I'd rate it 3 stars as written, it needs the modifications suggested by previous reviewers such as more garlic (I used 3 cloves ) & shrimp (I used a dozen) , less breadcrumbs (I used 1/2 cup) & the addition of 1/4 cup chopped onion. The recipe doesn't specify how large the eggplant chunks should be, (I made mine about 1" cubes)...even though after baking in the oven, while we really liked the flavor we did not care for the texture...it was all sorta mushy & the shrimp were definitely overcooked. I WILL make this again but will definitely try to improve it next time - I'll let ya know how I do!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: tarajvern
Delicious! I doubled the shrimp, used panko breadcrumbs, and added mushrooms, red onion, and a little mozzarella I had in the fridge. I cooked all the veggies first, and added the diced shrimp last so the shrimp wouldnt over cook. I added the breadcrumbs and chesses, then put the mixture in the shells and baked for 30 min. Turned out fantastic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: chelseasmit
Usually I think there must be something wrong with a person who gives a recipe a low rating when every other rating is high. I really disliked this. I made it just as the recipe said. It looked really pretty and delicious, but it was mushy and tasted like bread crumbs with basil. The eggplant was a weird consistency and kind of spongey. I supposed I could have cooked it longer, but the cheese on top was warm and the stuffing was cooked thoroughly. It was dry, probably because of the bread crumbs... nice idea, didn't play out the way I had hoped.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes