My Reviews (84)

Chicken and Lime Soup

This is a Mexican dish known as Sopa De Lima. It is very light and refreshing and you can adapt the amount of chilli to taste.
Reviews (84)


10 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: munir.farah@gmail.com
I sliced and sauteed the chicken with onion and garlic in a dutch oven then added some diced jalapeno, frozen corn, fresh carrots and celery. Added ground cumin, paprika, along with the oregano. Added clilantro and fresh parseley. I used both fresh lime juice and lime zest and was worried it would taste too strongly of lime, but it was just perfect. My husband couldn't get enough of it! With some low fat sour cream, tortilla chips and shredded cheddar it made for a wonderful lunch. Great with a cold beer or margarita!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: SB
This was very light and delicious! I did not have 6 limes so, I just grated some lime peel into the soup when I boiled the chicken and it turned out great! I love the stong lime flavor in this. I will make this again for sure! Thanks for the great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Yolie
My husband and I absolutely loved this soup! I added one jalapeno (seeded and chopped). Served it with lowfat sour cream and queso fresco. Wonderful flavors and very filling!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Heather Spencer
This was very yummy with two additions...I used shrimp instead of chicken and also put fresh corn, cut from the cobb, into the soup. It only needed about 3 1/2 limes...quite limey so use caution and taste before adding all 6 limes. Also, I omitted the extra salt in step 2. Plenty of seasoning.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Karine
Fantastic soup and flavor. I love fresh lime and cilantro. One thing we might add next time is hominy to add a bit more substance to it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Bill Ligertwood
Very Tasty indeed.... I think a little tequila wouldn't hurt !
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: BRAELIN
Amazing!! So refreshing! I didn't use fresh tomatoes, I used Rotel and a can of green chiles to save time. Also, I added corn niblets, rice and carrots for my tasting. I make a pot EVERY WEEK!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2010
Reviewed by: Gwen on the West Coast
I like the flavor of this soup alot. I sauteed the onion, garlic and chicken together before adding it to the chicken stock. I know you're thinking it's too much lime but it's not - the flavor comes out really good. Make sure you use plenty of fresh cilantro - it's essential. This soup tastes really fresh with a little bit of a kick. I will make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: KariMercer
I used a poblano pepper... This is by the far the best Mexican-style soup I've found on this website. Thank you for sharing this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Rene
A wonderful taste
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes