My Reviews (507)

Sweet Potato Chicken Stew

This is a wonderfully flavourful chicken stew prepared in the slow cooker. Cumin, sweet potatoes and salsa are a great combination.
Reviews (507)


21 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Chef Joy
I really think people should take note to the user who doubled her sauce. I only used 1 package (2lb) of boneless thighs (bone-in works fine though!) and 1.5 sweet potatoes, and the tops were burning and black beans dried out because it was not covered in liquid. So, I doubled the cumin, allspice, garlic, 1.5C salsa (light, med, hot doesn't matter), and 2/3C broth. Use a slotted spoon if you don't want soupy, but this really wasn't! Used box of uncle ben's chicken wild rice (with the seasoning) to serve on top of, and people go ga-ga over all the flavor. This definitely makes the house smell warm. We "HATE" sweet potatoes, so my husband cringed when I told him what this was made of, yet this is now both of our favorite meals. I'm so glad I trusted the reviews. Also added a can of corn, and glad I did as it was the perfect mix of flavors!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: REDCAT2005
we loved this!! i used a 3 lb pack of chicken thighs and drumsticks, skinned. i skipped the pan browning step. based on other reviews, i made the following changes: 1 can black beans instead of 2, 1 can of corn, 2 cups medium salsa, 5 garlic cloves, and 1 cup chicken broth, all other ingredients stayed the same. i cooked on low for over 6 hours and it was divine. made with puerto rican steamed rice but would also go well with brown rice or couscous as others suggested.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: treetopbirdy
Brilliant recipe. So flavorful. And let me add this serving idea: first time around we did the rice. SECOND time around I took the mix and stuffed it into hard taco shells with tomato, lettuce and sour cream. THAT is how this is supposed to be eaten. The corn flavor and the crunch took it to a whole new level.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Kai
This is probably my favorite crockpot recipe ever. I used bone-in chicken thighs (skinned) and cooked it for 5 hours on high. I served it over cooked brown rice with fresh squeezed lime and chopped cilantro on top. Super easy and incredibly yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: YellowBird
I made this for supper tonight and even my picky husband loved it. I went by the reviews and added more liquid - 1-1/2 cups salsa and 2 cups chicken broth. Since we don't like dark meat, I used skinless, boneless chicken breasts. Another change was using a can of jalapinto beans instead of black beans since my husband doesn't care for black beans and I added a can of MexiCorn. When I stirred it after I got home from work, the chicken shredded itself so it was like a thick chicken stew. I served it over brown rice. I will definitely be making it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Kelly F
This was delicious! Because I have a young child, I modified it slightly to minimize the heat spice of the salsa. Instead I doubled the chicken broth and combined it with 8 oz of organic tomato sauce. I also added half a chopped onion. I cooked it a bit longer than the recipe called for and it still turned out amazing. The chicken was so tender! I served it with whole wheat couscous, which was a perfect combination.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Marla
ridiculous good! i wasn't sure how i was going to like the sweet potatoes in this recipe but they were excellent in this dish. i doubled the liquid and added a can of corn to the recipe. the chicken was so moist and full of flavor. delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Jessie Furman
This recipe was fantastic! I will definitely be adding this recipe to my regular line-up: simple, delicious, rich, hearty! All the substitutions were helpful, but I prepared it exactly to recipe, except that I did not have chicken broth: subbed water and appopriate salt, and still amazing! I think it is important to prepare a new dish exactly to recipe before substitutions are made or suggested. Otherwise an entirely new dish is being prepared!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Caressa
This was so yummy! I put everything in the slow cooker at once and cooked on low for 7 hrs. Chicken came out great. I also added some corn. I served over brown rice and next time I'll add a dollop of sour cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Jennifer
Delicious, I added the corn, used vegetable broth instead, and used my own spices such as cumin, parsley, cardamom, tumeric, nutmeg, basil, red pepper flakes, and cinnamon, just a few shakes of each. Can't wait to make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes