My Reviews (32)

Grilled Veggies and Couscous Salad

Fluffy couscous mixed with grilled veggies and dressed with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. A delightful vegetarian dish.
Reviews (32)


08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: MEDHALEE
Okay...the first time around, I made this as a side dish for some pork chops. My fiance said it was bland. There were leftovers, since he wasn't fond of it (I thought it was okay). Anyway, the next day, I sauteed some tofu and threw the leftover couscous in, making a vegetarian one-pan dinner of sorts. It was brilliant! I highly recommend adding the tofu.
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
LitleLisa1 said:
Used different ingredients. I added two chicken stock cubes to the water which gave the couscous some flavour and used roasted tomatoes and red onions as that was all I had around. I sprinkled it with balsamic vinegar dressing which gave it some great flavour. It turned out pretty good...I will definitely make this recipe again, my three year old loved it!
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: NARCOSLEEPY
Very yummy and filling! I would drizzle the oil and vinegar on the veggies after you put them on the couscous to serve, b/c ours was a little bland. I might add some salt and pepper, too. But great and easy!
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Jennifer J
This was pretty good. I actually cut the veggies up really small and mixed them in with the couscous. Thought maybe I could get my son to eat it, but no such luck. Made a very nice side dish for my husband and me though.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: SQUIRLADY
This was a little bland. While I will make it again, I'll make some changes, like using stock instead of water and adding some roasted onions with the other veggies.
 
24 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: KIMBERLY CONIFF
Okay...the first time around, I made this as a side dish for some pork chops. My fiance said it was bland. There were leftovers, since he wasn't fond of it (I thought it was okay). Anyways, the next day, I sauteed some tofu and threw the leftover couscous in, making a vegetarian skillet dinner of sorts. It was awesome!! I highly recommend adding the tofu.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: LAURILAN
I added two chicken boullion cubes to the water which gave the couscous some flavor and used roasted tomatoes and red onions as that was all I had around. I sprinkled it with balsamic vinegar dressing which gave it some great flavor. It turned out pretty good...I will definately make this recipe again, my three year old loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: John
The simple fact is that couscous IS bland. I'd rather have plain pasta. However, if you play with it, anyone can make couscous tasty. I like to chop up a bit of shallot, and saute it a little in the olive oil- maybe a touch of minced garlic clove as well, and then toss in the couscous and coat that too. Then the water (plus definitely a chicken boullioun cube). A touch of salt- up to you. Couscous is an eastern staple, so add some easterny flavours when simmering. Add a pinch of cinnamon, or turmeric, or whatever. Like peas? Mix some in while simmering. I also like to add a bit of chopped green onion. Tease it any way you want, but do something with it- just hints of this or that, or it will be bland. And oh yeah- I did enjoy the recipie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: APCOOKING
Good, easy, but needs a kick. I marinated the veggies in olive oil and balsamic vinegar for a short while before grilling. Then, the left over oil mixture from the marinade I added to the cooked couscous, which stepped it up a bit, along with some pepper. The dish looks nice with the veggies laid out on top, but still there was something missing. Serving with mango chutney was the answer, and then the meal felt complete and satisfying.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2001
Reviewed by: RACHELEIGH
Very yummy and filling! I would drizzle the oil and vinegar on the veggies after you put them on the couscous to serve, b/c ours was a little bland. I might add some salt and pepper, too. But great and easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes