My Reviews (22)

Seafood Soup Stock

A good stock is the basis for a good soup or stew. This recipe uses prawn shells but the addition of any non-oily fish skins, bones or heads will further improve the flavour.
Reviews (22)


17 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: LASTMANG0
perfect starter gumbo stock recipe! I wouldn't limit it to just shrimp shells though! Feel Free to add fish bones, crab shells or any other shellfish shells you have around. The best gumbo stock I make is almost exactly like this but we use leftover crawfish shells from crawfish boils done in Zatarains Liquid. It adds a real zing to the stock that really helps the gumbo.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: YHAMILTON
I tried the Seafood Gumbo Stock last year and it was wonderful, actually it was the best that I have ever tasted.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: bgraham
Doubled the shell amount, turned out even better. Used it as base stock for Shrimp and Okra Gumbo. http://soup.allrecipes.com/AZ/ShrimpandOkraGumbo.asp
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Dawn
I made this stock a few years ago to use as a base for gumbo for my Mardi Gras party. It was incredible and I beleive roasting the shrimp shells really makes the difference. I made shrimp etoufee this past Saturday for Mardi Gras party and wanted to use this stock but didn't have the time to roast the shells and then simmer for the 7+ hours to make it. I had a pint of some really rich shrimp stock I had made earlier using shrimp heads and shells and a pint of some rich home-made chicken stock that I added to the water. The house smelled so good and the stock was so yummy. I had some left and added some other ingredients for a small bowl of soup yesterday - Delicious!! Who wold have thought to add cloves? Brilliant!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Marie
This stock is the best I've ever made! I used this stock recipe when making seafood gumbo for about 75 people. Here are a couple of their comments:One lady from Mississippi said she absolutely LOVED the gumbo! A gentleman from Baton Rouge, LA said the gumbo was incredibly rich and flavorful--no doubt a product of a great stock!! Thanks for a great recipe...this is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: BGORE04
WOW! This takes a long time, but it was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: GrayWolfgang
Firt time I made it and I was a sceptic but its great!!! I saved the stock in a 1/2 gallon milk jug in the frig.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: thistlegarden
The stock is excellent, but time consuming. After I roasted the shrimp shells, I simmered it in my crockpot all day. That worked well. The gumbo recipe that goes with it isn't as good...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: babydoll
what fallows this ive madegumbo before so i dont know what to do after the stock is made
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: TNBQUILT
Wonderful. I make this and pressure can it so that I will have it on hand whenever I want to make gumbo. Adding a fish head and some clam shells will make it even better, but I used only shrimp shells for a long time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes