My Reviews (591)

Salmon Corn Chowder

Fish chowder makes a hearty dish for cold days. The addition of potatoes, carrots and celery make this a meal in itself.
Reviews (591)


18 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: KarenBridgman
This soup is easy and absolutely delicious.
 
22 May 2016
Reviewed by: Loveonlinerecipes
Replaced evaporated milk with 250 mls soy and a little extra stock and replaced can salmon with fresh salmon yummo
 
07 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: MARNZ01
Great recipe. I made it tastier and healthier as follows: skip the cheddar cheese all together, after the onion/celery, deglaze with a little white wine. Kick it up with some red pepper flakes. Must use fresh garlic and salmon. Don't pre-cook your salmon, there is no need. Add chunks in raw and then let it simmer, they cook very quickly and will also be much more tender in the finished soup. Also use fat free evaporated milk and thicken with corn starch. A splash of fresh green peas and Enjoy!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: MommyFromSeattle
Very quick, rich and comforting. But definitely use FRESH salmon and fresh garlic. I've also used 1/2 smoked, 1/2 fresh salmon and the smokiness gave it a wonderful flavor, similiar to a good clam chowder. However, the one big thing I would change about this recipe is to reduce the amount of cheddar to 1 or 1.5 cups, otherwise the original recipe ends up tasting too much like cheddar soup. 1 cup cheese is enough to salt and thicken it nicely. Also, if making for company, I would eliminate the carrots - adds to much chunkiness to a dish that should be creamy and smooth. Also, if just using fresh salmon, add a few teaspoons of liquid smoke for a nicer aroma-- makes all the difference. This soup has been part of our regular rotation and is very healthy and kid friendly. My 4 and 1 yr. gobbles it up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: CSTAPLEY
I really liked this recipe, but I did make a couple of changes. I used two 6-oz cans of boneless, skinless salmon, and it was plenty (I wonder if the "16-oz" can size is a mistake?). Also, I only used 1/4 lb. of cheddar instead of 1/2 lb., to help lower the fat content. It was very colorful and tasty. I'll definitely make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: AVERYBIRD
Hello, I gave this recipe 5 stars after modifying it a bit. Thanks to all those posters before me for their advice! My husband now rates my version of this soup ("smoky salmon chowder") as his favorite soup we've tried thus far! The following changes make a "smoky" version of the original and requires liquid smoke. If you don't like that smoky flavor, you might not want to follow my advice. However, if you do like smoky flavor this is to die for! Use: 1 LB Fresh Salmon smoked on the barbecue; use 3-4 cloves of fresh garlic; omit the carrots; double the dill weed; use only 1 cup of real cheddar cheese; and finally, as the soup is finishing add TWO capfuls of Wright's Liquid Smoke into the soup. Serve with artisan bread and enjoy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: SILVERISNOW
Delicious! Will definitely become one of our regular rotations. I made a couple changes, but followed the recipe mostly. I used 3 single person size fillets of fresh salmon. Wrapped in foil and baked at 375 for 20 mins. I omitted the creamed corn (husband doesn't like it) and instead of Cheddar (I don't like the UK cheddar) used mozzarella. DELISH! Addtition: We tried this again without carrots and it was still great! IT FREEZES BEAUTIFULLY!! Can't even tell it was frozen. I defrosted on the counter for about 2hrs, then reheated in a saucepan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: SARA K.
This is a great recipe. I used the small 6 oz. cans of Salmon and fresh garlic instead of the garlic powder, and subsituted fat free evaporated milk to cut some of the fat. I also used a cheddar-jack cheese blend instead of just cheddar, and used only half the 8-oz bag (I passed the rest around upon serving). What a delicious and easy soup!! YUM!! My husband loved it!! Definitely a keeper!! Thanks!! :o)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: SVPORTER
This was so good, that my '13-year-old-who's-so-picky-he-won't-eat-a-piece-of-chicken-because-a-mushroom-touched-it' liked it! And he hates salmon! WOW!!! What a winner. The rest of us loved it too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2003
This was an excellent recipe. I made it for a late night dinner when we had guests coming over, and it was perfect with some french bread on the side. People were asking for seconds! I would recommend leaving out the salt because the recipe is salty already.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes