My Reviews (53)

Rosemary and Thyme Bread

Milk and eggs make for a richer, moister herb bread. It is great for sandwiches but delicious with just a little olive oil and salt.
Reviews (53)


23 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: KATEFINGER
This is the best bread recipie. I had to stop making it for a while because we would eat it all in one night.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
I love making breads like this during the summer when fresh herbs are plentiful right in your own yard and you don't have to pay an arm and a leg for them in the grocery store! Herb breads are SO delicious, and this bread is certainly one of them. What caught my eye in this recipe was the addition of the milk (helps make for a tender bread) and egg (which adds moistness and richness) - and not one egg, but two! I was curious. Knowing that 2-1/2 T. of sugar would make the bread overflow in my bread machine (plus, I don't care for that much sweetener in my breads anyway) I trimmed the sugar down to just 1 tsp. I added a handful of fresh chopped parsley, chives, rosemary, oregano and thyme, and 2 T. of olive oil for the margarine called for. The recipe directs to use the basic white setting, but I wanted a deeper, crunchier crust and chose the French bread setting. The bread was everything I thought it would be - moist, rich, flavorful with a crisp and chewy crust. Delicious, and makes for fabulous sandwiches.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
This has got to be one of the best doughs I've worked with from this site. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make this bread, proofing the yeast with the sugar and warm milk in the mixer bowl for ten minutes before adding the butter and eggs, then the dry ingredients. I added about a tsp. of garlic powder to the dough, I made no other changes. This needed a couple more tbsp. of flour to get it together to want to jump on the bread hook. I let it knead for about five minutes with the hook, then set it on my warm oven to rise for about an hour or so. Once it doubled, I formed it into a loaf and set it on the warm oven to rise again. This bread really went to town on the second rise. This took about 30 minutes in a 350* oven. So pretty and very good. This will go well with Turkey Noodle Soup, which is also from this site. I'll make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: TSIAN21
I just brush on olive oil and salt it and everyone loves it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: JWLEE
a bit heavy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 May 2005
Reviewed by: PSHELLY
This was really great! I made the dough in the bread maker then baked it in the oven (I like the way it looks from the oven.) I also added some parmesan cheese--yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Anna Marie
Try making tomato sandwiches out of this bread ! This italian loves this stuff .. Only, I used EVO instead of butter, added chopped garlic, used all purpose flour with a little extra yeast and put in lots of rosemary! Oh boy !
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: VJOHEYOB
I loved this recipe. I started it in my bread machine on dough and finished it by hand. I used fresh rosemary but substituted dried herbs for the others. I had to add 1 teaspoon of olive oil and 1-1/2 teaspoons of water after the first 5 minutes in the bread machine. Don't really know why. I shaped it and let it rise 45 minutes glazed the loaf with egg mixed with water and baked it on a bread stone for 15 min.@ 375 degrees. Will make it again, my daughter loved it. I am going to post a picture, I hope.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: diane w
The bread was amazing and tasted like what you would be served in a restaurant. Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2011
This bread turned out lovely by and large, but I'll share my methods for making it for those who do NOT have a bread machine. Follow standard mixing methods for other breads. I combined the milk and sugar and warmed it to 110F and added the yeast. Let that sit 5-10 minutes while I beat the eggs and added the salt and herbs to that mixture. (I only used Rosemary and Thyme from my garden. When I do this next time I willl use more salt & Herbs and less sugar) When the milk is nice and foamy from the yeast activating, mix together the milk and egg mixtures. In a mixing bowl have 3 cups of flour ready and add the milk, yeast, egg mixture to the flour. Use one cup of flour to flour your kneading surface. Scrap the dough out onto the flour and begin kneading, slowly working in as much of the flour as you can till the dough starts to really resist you. It should be smooth and elastic and not sticky. Place kneaded dough into a oiled glass or plastic bowl to rise. Let it rise until doubled and when the dough bounces back slowly when you press it with your finger. Place dough again on a lightly floured surface and shape the dough. Then transfer to your greased baking sheet. (I sprinkled Cornmeal on the sheet for extra texture for the dough). Let the dough rise again. I sprinkled grated cheddar on top. Bake 20 minutes till nice and golden brown. Turned out lovely!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes