My Reviews (58)

Vegetarian Stock

A good stock is the basis for many dishes, especially soups and sauces. You can use whatever vegetables you have on hand, but avoid broccoli or cabbage as they will overwhelm the stock.
Reviews (58)


22 May 2008
Reviewed by: KIKABISOGNO
Very tasty stock! I don't like wasting food so after I strain the stock, I put all veggies on the blender with some liquid (stock) and a little bit of milk or cream. My kids love this creamy veggie soup ( a great source of fiber)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Tracy Elizabeth
I love this!!!! I'd never even thought of making my own veggie broth and it's in so many recipes. It's also a great substitute for chicken broth. This is a great way to get rid of vegetables in your fridge that are no longer fresh. I also love the comment about putting the veggies in the blender and making a cream soup with them, I also hate wasting anything. I blended mine with a little of the broth and added sour cream and cheddar. Absolutely delicious!!! To think, I almost threw them away!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: CAGal
This is a fabulous stock. So much so, the next time I will double it, and freeze the extra into ice cubes in the freezer for whenever I need extra broth. A couple of things I did was - I cut the carrot pieces into about 2" chunks. After I cooked everything and the broth was finished, the carrots were still firm enough to cup into slices (I used large carrots.) I ended up using this as a base for a vegetarian matzo ball soup where I added fresh made matzo balls (see package directions - very easy) and homemade noodles (on this site) plus the sliced carrots and a little parsley. My friends gave it an 11 grade out of 10. This will be a staple for me. I also pureed the leftover vegetables and added some broth and milk with cheddar cheese. Next time I will cook up some broccoli, mash it up a bit and add it to this mix. It makes a great base for a broccoli cheese soup. Plus, if you've never cooked the garlic like this before, it's wonderful. I did make some homemade bread and threw in an extra head in the cooking process. If you squeeze the garlic and add a little butter, and spread it on bread with some fresh grated parmesan, it's YUMMY. This is such a great recipe because you can do so much when roasting the vegetables. Oh, and I did add a 1/2 bunch of parsley to the broth when cooking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Jan Anderson Gleason
This is a FANTASTIC stock recipe. I've made it even easier by using disposable aluminum pans for roasting the vegetables. Then I put all the ingredients in my slow cooker and put it on high for two hours, then on low for an additional eight hours. Delicious! And SOOOOO easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: ChristineM
Simply the best vegetable stock I have ever made! I keep freezer bags of vegetable scraps in the freezer so I pulled out one of those - carrot peels, sweet potato peels, pieces of onions and peppers, garlic cloves that had dried out, stems from spinach, pieces of fennel and herbs that had passed their prime. I added celery, carrots and quartered onions and some rosemary, bay leaves and peppercorns. After placing them in the pot I added a little water to the roasting pan to help scrape up some of the bits left in the pan. The broth is so rich and dark, it looks almost like beef broth. All I need to do is add some salt and figure out what I want to use this in first!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Samantha Barnum
Beautiful stock, the soup idea was fantastic. Be sure to add enough salt to bring out the flavor, not enough and it ended up being bland. Much cheaper than store bought stock, and much more flavorful. It was hard to not just eat the carrots straight out of the pot! I used dried bay leaves and parsley, I upped the parsley to 2 teaspoons, and used a whole branch of fresh thyme. I used two tomatoes, instead of one, as well. Will definitely keep this delicious stock on hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Kris
The green bell pepper was too overpowering. Next time I'll leave it out. Overall good flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: angel204
Fantastic!!! I used basil and oregano in place of parsley and bay leaves. Even my five year old loves this and he hates veggies! I followed advice of others and blended the veggies into a soup. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: NickTheGreek
One of the most tasty soups I've ever had. The dried thyme and the taste of the roasted veggies dominate among the others. Also very easy to cook even for an amateur in cooking.. like me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Athenarose
I use this recipe anytime I want to make a vegetable stock. It makes the house smell so good all day, after I roast the veggies I put in the slow cooker and cover with water, plus put in the spices in. I leave it on low for about 8 hrs or so. Than I let it cool in the fridge overnight, the next day I put it in ice cube trays and after they freeze than a zip lock bag. I use this stock in place of water when cooking veggies and it rly addes alot of flavor. I also used it when I made baby food and my baby must of thought the same thing cause he loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes