My Reviews (32)

Rhubarb Spice Biscuits

Rhubarb adds sweetness and colour to this fruit and nut biscuit recipe. You can experiment with single varieties of nuts or add a mixture.
Reviews (32)


22 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Sweets86
Yum!! I used sesame seeds instead of linseeds. I was a bit worried about not precooking the rhubarb, but I chopped it fine and it cooked through in biscuits no problem!
 
09 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: palmerandallan
This is an amazing cookie. I made a couple of changes, 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white, 3/4 tsp vanilla, used pecans and raisins and sliced the rhubarb fairly thin, then coated it in the flour mixture before mixing with the wet ingredients. Do yourself a favour double the recipe I wish I had as I am going to have to make it again tomorrow night. Thanks... going onto the favourite list.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: tamararoxanne
Really good, but changed quite a bit... Used 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour and added 1 cup of rolled oats. Increased the butter by 1/4 cup and used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Also increased rhubarb to 2 cups because that's what I had. I did not use raisins or nuts just 2 1/2 tbs of flax seeds, same amounts of everything else. Baked for 10 minutes, these were amazing, I will make them again and again they really showcase the rhubarb-I enjoyed that!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: tiggertiffin87
I recommend chopping the rhubarb into as small pieces as you can. I blended half the amount of rhubarb to get the taste throughout the cookie, then the other half was chopped small.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Katie H
Made a double batch from the get-go. Used half brown and half white sugar as well as half the cloves and replaced the other half with all-spice. Very much like a small piece of rhubarb cake. Will likely make again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: kellieann
These are pretty good, but mine turned out nothing like the picture, they looked like little biscuits. They're a little on the dry side, and you can barely taste the rhubarb. I would suggest doubling or even tripling the amount of rhubarb.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2010
Reviewed by: apwarth
These cookies were pretty good. My husband loved them. I thought they were too soft but he liked that a lot about them. I thougt they had a good flavor to them. I used 1 teas pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon and cloves and used 1/2 cup almonds for my nuts. I did not use flax seed or rasins. Also, 12 min in my oven was a bit long. I will bake them for 10 or 11 min next time. Also, I think I will adding some friut next time like strawberrys or crasins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: xealia
4.5 stars I read the reviews and tweaked accordingly. I doubled the recipie and am glad I did (I yield 62 cookies). I used all white sugar instead of brown and white, I used half clove and half all spice, I doubled the rhubarb (4 cups), and I used half all purpose flour and half whole grain. Also instead of nuts or other fruit (which I didn't have) I used coconut. They turned out great but they are definatly more muffin consistancy than cookie but thats ok because they are tangy, sweet, moist, and semi-healthy. I'll probably eat the whole batch tonight! lol
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Alexis
I veganized the recipe by using ground flax and water as my egg, and Earth Balance as my butter. I also used 1c whole wheat and 1c white flour, and used 1/4tsp each of cloves and allspice. The final product was a good, lightly fruit flavored sugar cookie. Could have used a little more rhubarb, but that might be because of the whole wheat flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2010
Reviewed by: GREATCOOKREP
Good cookies! Our whole house loved them. I did have to substitute allspice for the cloves,but they were still great. I used raisins in them, but not the nuts. My husband and daughter hate nuts in things. They are very soft, which I consider a plus. I grow rhubarb and am always looking for rhubarb recipes. Thank you for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes