My Reviews (90)

Zucchini Cinnamon Muffins

Wholemeal muffins - honey-sweetened and packed with flavour - still manage to be low-fat and good for you. Skim milk, egg whites and just a little oil make these the healthy choice.
Reviews (90)


Comment:
14 Jul 2008
Used different ingredients. The first batch I made was rather bland, but good as a dinner bread. The next batch was better. I doubled the amount of honey and substituted apple sauce for the oil. Also good with walnuts!
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
HAGANRD said:
Used different ingredients. This is the exact same recipe as "Apple Muffins," also found on this site, except these have courgettes instead of apples. However, the recipe has the same problems. I would recommend using a whole egg instead of two egg whites, and substituting 100g caster sugar for the 4T honey. The increase in fat/calories is minimal, and worth it for the better taste.
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
Bamachef said:
Used different ingredients. I also changed a few things and my family loved them. I used almost twice the courgette, used a whole egg instead of egg whites and used vanilla soya milk instead of skimmed milk. I added chopped walnuts, which really helped the texture of the muffin. A sprinkle of porridge oats on top before baking made them pretttier to look at, too.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: ABISHOP
Some people liked these, but I found them very blah - they need something to really pick up the flavour. I wouldn't recommend this recipe just to get a lower fat version - just modify some others to make them lower in fat and calories. The only way I could eat them is with a lot of honey or butter. Kids would hate these.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Rebecca
I also found this to be not too sweet. kinda blah is a good way to put it. However, I liked them. I served them like a bread during dinner - not like a dessert bread or breakfast muffin. They are pretty low in "points" for any weight watchers out there too (3). I think sultanas may help.
 
13 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Bamachef
I also changed a few things and my family loved them. I used almost twice the zucchini, used a whole egg instead of egg whites, and used vanilla soy milk instead of fat free milk. I added chopped walnuts, which really helped the texture of the muffin. A sprinkle of oats on top before baking made them pretttier to look at, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: HAGANRD
This is the exact same recipe as "Apple Muffins," also found on this site, except these have zucchini instead of apples. However, the recipe has the same problems. I would recommend using a whole egg instead of two egg whites, and substituting 1/2 c. white sugar for the 1/4 c. honey. The increase in fat/calories is minimal, and worth it for the better taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: REBECCA SCOTT
The first batch I made was rather bland, but good as a dinner bread. The next batch was better. I doubled the amount of honey and substituted applesauce for the oil. Also good with walnuts!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: OACARTER
Great recipe.Made changes/additions: Used 1-1/2 c whole wheat flour and 1/2 c oats, 1/4 c chunky applesauce instead of oil, 1 egg instead of egg whites, 1 tsp sea salt instead of 1/2 tsp, 1/2 c brown sugar instead of honey, and added 1/3 c sliced almonds, 1/4 dried cranberries and 1 tsp vanilla.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Jenn
I made changes to the recipe,I followed some of the advice from the others. I added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg,used 1/4 cup of cinnamon applesauce and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I also used 11/2 cups of zucchini and added a brown sugar and cinnamon topping wich was 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 1 tablespoon of cinnamon mixed together and sprinkled on the top of each muffin before baking. They turned out very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes