My Reviews (119)

Wild Rice Stuffed Poussin

Here's a variation on the traditional Sunday roast! Poussin (young chickens) are stuffed with almonds and wild rice before roasting.
Reviews (119)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
SALLY89103 said:
Used different ingredients. This was a great recipe. My boyfriend, who had never tried cornish game hen even liked it. I did the following: Added a tbsp. each of mushroom & celery & 1/8 tsp. of garlic (in jar). Also threw in ½ tsp. fresh rosemary leaves in step 1. Added pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, lemon pepper, & poultry seasoning in step 3. Turned heat down to 180 degrees 15 minutes after start. At step 4, I added ½ cup chicken stock (for 2 servings). Served with additional rice, steamed broccoli, & green beans with butter, salt, & pepper.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
KYMBERAND said:
Something else. The hens turned out pretty good. I added mushrooms, onion, celery to white rice as well as the chicken stock. I also added seasoned rice and chicken with a little poultry season, salt and pepper. I basted the hens with more stock after the first 1/2 hour and each 1/2 hour after. The rice was very tasty and the hens were juicy and flavourful. I saved the leftovers and made rice muchroom soup. Turned out great.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
SPIRITGLOW said:
Used different ingredients. Delicious! I made a few modifications to the recipe. I used a regular 2kg chicken, and added rosemary, oregano, and black pepper to the outside of the bird. I also substituted celery for the almonds in the stuffing (don't care for almonds) and added a clove of minced garlic. The stuffing is good enough to serve as a stand-alone side dish. This made a wonderful meal on a chilly autumn evening, thanks for posting it!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
stikychikn said:
Used different ingredients. I left out the salt and only used a very scant tsp. of granular bouillon because of low-salt restrictions. I added mushrooms and garlic to use them up and added a pinch of poultry seasoning for flavour because of no salt. I also used brown rice because that's what I had. My husband raved about this (very unusual!). Thank you, I will make this again.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
JZM said:
Something else. I used this recipe for my 2 year annniversary. As a beginning cook I found this recipe very easy to follow, and very delicious. My husband absolutely loved the cornish hens. A tip that I would give anyone that uses this recipe is to make sure the rice is cooked thoroughly before you stuff the hens, and make sure you do leave the skin on while baking; otherwise your hens will get dry. Overall I would say that this recipe was very good. A+
 
24 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: the allrecipes staff
Hello! We have updated the cook time for the rice in this recipe. We hope this helps with some of the problems that have been noted in the reviews. - The Staff
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Dragngirle
This was a great recipe. My boyfriend, who had never tried cornish game hen even liked it. I did the following: Added a tbsp. each of mushroom & celery & 1/8 tsp. of garlic (in jar). Also threw in ½ tsp. fresh rosemary leaves in step 1. Added pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, lemon pepper, & poultry seasoning in step 3. Turned heat down to 350 degrees 15 minutes after start. At step 4, I added ½ cup chicken broth (for 2 servings). Served with additional rice (was a kroeger wild rice with seasoning package box), steamed broccoli, & green beans (from can) with butter, salt, & pepper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: ScorpioGG
In the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, 'Cooking for Two' (1968), the rice listed is long grain rice with a cooking time of 20 - 25 minutes. It also calls for a teaspoon of lemon juice to be added after the bouillon cube, and to baste the birds with the 1/4 cup of butter during the last 15 minutes of roasting time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: ASHLYNNS MOMMY
Delicious! I made a few modifications to the recipe. I used a regular 4 lb. chicken, and added rosemary, oregano, and black pepper to the outside of the bird. I also substituted celery for the almonds in the stuffing (don't care for almonds) and added a clove of minced garlic. The stuffing is good enough to serve as a stand-alone side dish. This made a wonderful meal on a chilly autumn evening, thanks for posting it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: SHIRLEY122
I found this recipe a couple weeks ago and then my grocer put cornish game hen on sale, so I've tested this recipe twice! This one is a real winner. Easy to prepare, but remember to start this a couple hours before you want to eat. As a great bonus it makes your house smell great. A couple of substitutions that I made were using 1/3 cup of wild rice pilaf instead of just wild rice, this worked out perfectly. I also used 1 cup of low sodium canned chicken broth instead of the bouillon and water which worked well too. Also, I liked adding 2 Tbls of golden raisins to the butter, almonds, and onions for the rice stuffing. It gives it a nice sweet dimension. Also, if you don't have any slivered almonds on hand you can use any others nuts. I just chopped some mixed nuts and used those and it was still yummy! Thank you for sharing this great recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes