My Reviews (78)

Orange and Red Lentil Soup

A lovely soup recipe; Very easy to make and has a nice warm flavour. It's still savoury even though it has orange juice in it.
Reviews (78)


08 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: FBA
I thought this was tasty but my husband, who's a big lentil soup fan, loved it. I sauteed the onion in a little olive oil instead of butter (as it's healthier). When the onion was softened, I added some minced garlic, which I briefly sauteed, before adding the rest of the ingredients. I also diced the carrot instaed of shredding it & used only 1/4 tsp. thyme, due to family preference. I added all the broth at the same time & didn't bother blending the ingredients at the end. A little texture from the lentils & veggies was fine with us. I would suggest that if you go to the trouble of making this that you double the recipe so you can take some to lunch or freeze it for another time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: TARMAQ
This was wonderful! I used vegetarian chicken seasoning instead of chicken broth, and skipped the celery and bay leaf. My family loved it - the only problem was I would say this made about two servings, not four - by the time the kids and I were done, my husband got about three bites. Also, I had to keep adding extra water as it cooked. But overall, it was a winner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: aj
Amazing soup. Seems gourmet, but its so simple to make. Guests loved it, as did kids. I added garlic, and sautéed it with the onion as others suggested.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2001
Reviewed by: HANNAHJ
Exceptional. The best lentil soup I've tasted, bar-none. The orange leaves a pleasant after taste and the spices are just right. Please post more of this woman's recipes. I would love a good recipe for scones. Thanks again, Hannah.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: SHEWETT
Very good soup. I cooked all the broth with the lentils, instead of adding some at the end. I also only blended halh the soup, so there were chunks in the soup. Nice refreshing flavor. Great the way it was, I also added some cream to my bowl of soup and it was good too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Judy K.
My Husband and I just loved this soup! One of the best I ever ate, with a wonderful fine flavor! I followed the recipe exactly as written but did add some diced cooked chicken to it. I served it with fresh backed Corn Bread - absolutely Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 May 2004
Reviewed by: SUNNYCO
I have never cared much for lentils but I have been trying. I had two cups of them to use up so I made a triple batch. I can tell already that it won't last long because "tasting" it when it was done ended up meaning I ate two full bowls. I used white pepper and added all of the liquid before it was done cooking becuase the lentils had absorbed so much. I also sauteed the celery 'til it was soft to make sure I could puree it enough to sneak it past my kids. Any crunchy bits, no matter how small, could give away my secret plan to get veggies into their bodies. I really like it. I don't use thyme much in cooking and was not going to bother buying more when I ran out but I used the rest for this soup and thyme is already on my grocery list. I will have to make more of this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: devilonastick
This is the best lentil soup ever!!!! Even my husband, who needs meat for every meal, ate all of this soup, and wanted more. I recommend making a double batch. Thanks, Nick
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: sophiem
Very good soup. My picky husband ,my 2 1/2 years old and 14 months old loved it. I sauteed the onion/celery/carotte together, used vegetable stock, fresh thyme and herbes de Provence and did not blend the soup at the end and it was perfect. No leftovers
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Nemui
Wonderful flavor and so easy to make, perfect for a weeknight.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes