My Reviews (343)

Slow Cooked Roast Beef

This is tender fall-off-the-bone roast beef with mushrooms. It's perfect as is. Use the leftovers to make a hearty sandwich.
Reviews (343)


01 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: nakial30
Nice and easy...makes a Jus rather than a gravy though.
 
28 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Cindy
If I don't have a can of beer, what can I use in it's place? Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: mollyjo401
This is a nice recipe for beef and mushroom pot roast, but why use a standing rib roast, which is much better roasted with dry heat. An arm roast or chuck roast works well here and is a LOT less expensive
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: TRICIANU1
Great! My husband raved about how tender the meat was. I actually adjusted it a little bit...I used 2 1oz packages of onion soup mix and I used a little over a 3lb chuck roast...the butcher said that would result in a very tender roast.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
I've used beer with beef roasts (Guinness Draught to be exact) and I've used onion soup mix too (Beefy Onion to be exact). But I've never used the two together and I was a little uncertain about trying it - it turns out I needn't have been. I used a rump roast - I made slits and inserted slivers of fresh garlic. I used just the 8 ounce package of mushrooms I had on hand and that was plenty, tho' I did add several cippollini onions (a nice touch, by the way). The beer taste disappears entirely and gives way to a rich, deep beefy broth. The roast itself is robustly flavored and fork tender. Normally I'll dredge the roast in flour and then brown it in butter but, the truth be told, I was too lazy this time - but it didn't matter as the roast sure didn't seem to suffer for it! Awesome good - glad I tried it in spite of my skepticism.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: jdg78
I been cooking this recipe for decades! Super easy and tasty. Add sliced onions to the bottom of the slow cooker along with the mushrooms for another tasty addition. Strain the liquid from the vegis to a sauce pan, add some beef stock and thicken with a roux to make a nice gravy to accompany the dish. However; DO NOT use a standing rib roast for this recipe unless you are rich and WANT to waste your money and ruin a beautiful piece of meat! This recipe (or any recipe using a low and slow, moist heat cooking method) should always and ONLY use a cheaper cut like a chuck roast or similar tough cut of beef. A rib roast is already a tender cut and does not need or respond well to the long cooking times used in slow cooker recipes needed to break down connective tissue and render out fat. If you want to cook a rib roast use a DRY heat method. Otherwise enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: charlie
Excellent roast!! I was a little weary using, but it taste great. Thanks for giving me another great recipe to add to my collection. (I used a 6 lb. roast and my family of 7 ate every single bite.) Thanks again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: James Hodge
I added 5 cloves of garlic and half an onion cut into thin slices. Next time I'll definitely put more mushrooms in and cook it a little bit longer. Overall, the flavor was really good and the broth can make a really good gravy with a little flour and milk in a saucepan over medium heat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: AKTigerStyle
Yum Yum yumm... I made just as written and must admit I had an urge to add a few more things, but it was great as is! The house smelled so good it made my stomach growl and I had to eat a bowl of cereal to calm it down. Extremely tasty and SO easy! I made it for company and they loved it! garlic mashed potato was my side dish after reading other reviews. I'll be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: kimwmower
This was awesome. I've never cooked ribs before but found some one a great deal. Made this as the recipe said except we used Ginger Ale instead of beer simply because we don't have alcohol in our home. My husband said it was one of his favorite beef recipes of all time. It was so tender and perfect. Will definitely make this again. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes