My Reviews (228)

Red Lentil Soup with Lemon

This is a wonderful soup that I serve garnished with lemon wedges. Sometimes I add cooked chicken breast or cubed sweet potatoes for texture.
Reviews (228)


30 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Ahmad Ghosheh
Very good. I am a Palestinian and we cook this all the time. I double the Cumin. and get rid of the cayenne pepper and use regular pepper. Also no need to puree, if you leave the soup on low heat for 15 to 20 minutes the lintels will dissolve completely. I add the onions last because I like the crunch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: ky
This soup is delicious. I did alter it a little. If you saute onions, garlic, celery and carrots and add them at the end, it makes it that much better. Then I let it simmer a while longer until the vegetables were soft. Loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 May 2008
Reviewed by: SarahandtheCity
I really like this recipe..and after I "Owned" it, I liked it evern more!! First of all, not everyone can deal with spicy..no worries about eliminating the Cayenne Pepper, lemon pepper is so much better! I also absolutely love the texture of the lentils in this soup, so blending them and ommitting the reason this soup is so good feels wrong, I instead sauteed the onions with carrots and garlice, and pureed them and added them to the soup. I also browned some chicken breast bits and threw them in as well. Doubled the cumin and omitted the cilantro. Great recipe!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: ELLYDDAN
This soup is fantastic. It tastes just like what I enjoy from our local Mid-Eastern restaurant. I highly recommend using lemon juice or a wedge of lemon for a garnish. My personal preference is to serve the soup with a little long-grain rice like Basmati or Jasmine, fresh cilantro and a dollop of plain yogurt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Sarah
I have been looking for a traditional middle-eastern lentil soup for ages, and this one is PERFECT! I substituted veggie broth for the chicken broth to make the recipe vegetarian. 2 cups of red lentils worked well for me with 6 cups of broth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Marney Ayers Freeland
This soup is super quick and easy. We usually serve this with hot naan and sometimes over basmati rice. It's delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: sweettoothlady
I think the reviews are a little overrated, since I felt the lemon was quite overpowering. The soup is very different before and after the lemon is added. One should add it gradually, to taste, I think.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Joy
I loved this recipe. I cut the portions in half for a single persons portion. I minced the onion and garlic very small and added them to cook for about 15-20 minutes longer. Because I cooked the lentils longer and stirred frequently, I chose not to blend and get more texture. I used store bought lemon juice and only used about half of what the recipe called for. No time for fresh cilantro, so I added coriander for the minty flavor and it was perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: lulu
i am Lebanese,and this is my first time cooking red lentil soup i just made today and loved it so much it's going to be on my dinner table at least ounce a week i added black pepper,and dry cilantro to the onion and garlic it was so delicious
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Elizabeth
Delicious. I used brown lentils (that was all I had). Cooked as directed, did not puree/blend at the end. So lemony and fresh tasting! Would be wonderful with chicken in it, but is great on its own.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes