My Reviews (35)

Chicken and Cabbage Soup

This is a low budget, quick and easy variation of hot and sour soup. The chicken and cabbage are added to make it more filling.
Reviews (35)


28 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Azure
This is delicious! And easy to prepare. So tasty! I omit the fish sauce and lemon grass and I have used vegetable broth instead of chicken and added extra cabbage and sprouts. Thank you for sharing this awesome recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: skittles83
AWESOME! I didnt have any lemon grass so i didn't use any. I like my stuff sour so i added 2 more dashes of vinegar. I also used the lite version of soy sauce to cut back on the salt. I didnt have black pepper so I used white pepper.. I didnt use a whole tablespoon just about between 1/2 and 3/4 tbs. It smelled the rest of the soup so i added more garlic powder, minced and about 2 cups of the broth mixture. I accidently added a lil too much red pepper than i wanted so i scooped some out and cooked the chicken in the soup and used one small onion. Will definately make again and I will try to thicken it with arrowroot and water since most hot and sour soups at the restuarants are thick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Rei 0
I thought I'd add that you can find fish sauce (sometimes called nam pla) in the Asian foods section of most supermarkets. I don't remember it as being particularly expensive.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Tamra Scott-Hunt
Very nice soup. Just what I was looking for! I'm eating it right now and it feels so good in my belly on a cold winter night. I followed the recipe except my grocer didn't have any bean sprouts today, so I'll have to try that next time. I also added one kefir lime leaf and cilantro instead of parsley because I prefer it. And I cooked the whole thing in my crock pot adding the egg and cilantro at the very end. Thanks for posting this wonderful soup recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Milenka Stocking
This is a great recipe.I didn't put parsley and I made it with out the chicken because I used it as a side dish. Try really hard to find lemon grass, to me is very important , and the fish sauce too. I added some dried mushrooms. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Calcifer'sKitchen
SENSATIONAL!!! I have nothing bad to say about this soup. I have made this countless times, and it still remains a family favorite. Very cheap and wonderfully delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Allyson
Tasty and satisfying. For my palate, it needed more vinegar and hot pepper flakes. I am not sure how much more I added, just kept adding until it was right for me. Double of both if I had to guess. I used bok choy instead of cabbage, only because that is what I had on hand. I added a pack of shitake mushrooms, and used Thai basil instead of parsley.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 May 2011
Reviewed by: katienkyle
With the addition of thickener(I used arrowroot starch, about 3 TBSP to keep it gluten free), this was an amazing soup that actually tasted very close to the "Chinese restaurant" version, albeit more healthy, and more flavorful. I make my own chicken broth by boiling down a chicken carcass; it creates a rich, nourishing broth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: alea tuttle
great! lots of sodium though.... I made my own chicken stock from a carcass we just finished, skimmed off the fat, and used the baked chicken scraps for the meat. boiled some "bean thread" for noodles and added ginger and broccoli. love the hot and sour broth! A real winner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: curie
I didn't have any lemon grass or parsley, and used balsamic vinegar instead, but it still turned out great, even if perhaps not as intended.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes