My Reviews (30)

Hearty Chicken and Corn Soup

Great chicken soup with a variety of texture and flavours from barley, carrots, corn and onion. Serve with warm bread.
Reviews (30)


13 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: Holly Rader
This is a great chicken soup. I made it for my husband who is sick with a cold and it really hit the spot. I used only one onion but next time will try two as the recipe says. And I added salt and pepper and a little bit of italian seasoning. Also, I used chicken thighs since they were cheaper than a whole chicken and we like dark meat better anyway.My husband really raved about how good this was. Definitely a hearty chicken soup and a keeper!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: quickcooker
This is a great recipe and a fantastic fall meal! I changed a few ingredients, based on what I had in my cupboards and fridge. I used an orange bell pepper (instead of red); I added a cup of shredded spinach just before serving (extra ingredient---it wilts by the time people begin to eat it); I used about 5 frozen chicken tenders (instead of a whole chicken); I used fresh corn kearnels from one ear of corn (instead of canned or frozen corn).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Princetonbound
This soup should not be eaten until it has been refrigerated overnight. The first day it was so/so, but the second day it was a wonderful, original blend of flavors.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Midnight Cookin
This is a Great Chicken Soup.I just changed a couple things.I added 2 cloves of Garlic and Salt and Pepper. Instead of the Barley I used 3/4 cup of orzo. I also used a 3-4 lb Chicken and simmered for 2 hours instead of 1 hour before pulling the Chicken apart and then simmer again for 30 minutes before adding the orzo. Doing this gives you more than 3 hours of cook time and makes this an Amazing soup no matter when you eat it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: BZMOM
This is a great simple recipe for chicken soup. I find that poking an onion with whole cloves and adding it to the soup adds great flavour. Also, if you allow the broth to cool and refrigerate overnight, the next morning you'll be able to skim off any fat that has congealed on the surface and you're left with a great fat-free soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: lykrauze
My family loved the soup. I just added a few extra ingredients--I added a head of garlic (chopped) and some cayenne pepper for a little kick. My 9-year-old liked it so much, he asked me if I could rate it above 5 stars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: RETDITTO
This soup is definitely hearty; lots of vegetables and chicken but very bland. It is a good basic soup that can take many different directions depending on the blend of seasoning/spices added. By itself, it's just so-so.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: K
This was VERY good! I only rated as 4 stars due to the lack of seasoning. I halved the recipe, increased the barley a little, and added 1 t. minced garlic, 3/4 t. salt, 1/8 t. each of pepper, sage, thyme, and basil. It gave it just enough flavor without overwhelming you. Without it I think it would have been fairly bland. My entire family REALLY liked it! Even my 5 year old raved about it saying "this is the best soup ever!" and he doesn't like soup! Very good! It will definately be made again! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Jodi
Amazing soup - flavor was wonderful. Just what I was looking for. I followed the recipe exactly except that I grated all my carrots. The red bell pepper really added a nice flavour to the soup. thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Samara
Tastes amazing! I cheat by buying a rotisserie chicken from the local market. I throw away the skin and toss the chicken into the water with the vegetables right off the bat. It cuts down on my cooking time. There's enough broth to satisfy my fiancé and I (he loves it, I hate it).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes