My Reviews (654)

Buttery Basil Green Beans

The best green beans ever! Briefly boiled and then tossed in a garlic, basil and butter sauce with cherry tomatoes. Yum.
Reviews (654)


19 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Cheryl
I made this for for a small dinner party and it came out very good. I did skip the sugar and used grape tomatoes instead of cherry. I also sprinkled it with a mixture of italian bread crumbs and parmesan cheese, which gave it a nice touch. It was a nice change from plain ol' green beans! Would definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Missdvs
This was very good! A neighbor went on vacation and he told me to help myself to his garden! He had a lot of green beans and cherry tomatoes so I found this recipe on the ingredient search. I omitted the garlic salt and sautéed 2 cloves of garlic and a small shallot (like another reviewer) in the butter and then added the tomatoes. I then added salt, pepper and basil and then I placed the green beans in the skillet so they could get a little of the spices cooked in them. Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: lisaj-w
A great idea to perk up ordinary green beans, but I found the addition of sugar to be distracting-- too sweet even with only a tablespoon. Mind you my husband and children had no complaints! Will definitely try again without the sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: KALFROMCAL
This outstanding vegetable dish had my vegetable-hating extended family raving at Thanksgiving dinner, and they REQUESTED it again for Christmas! Easy to prepare, BEAUTIFUL to present, good for you -- what's not to like? I steamed fresh green beans, sauted slivered garlic cloves in the butter, used grape tomatoes sliced in halves (less watery than cherry). I tossed the steamed beans into the butter & garlic concoction and sauteed a bit more, then added the tomatoes when I turned off the heat, so they simply picked up the warmth of the already prepared dish, and did not actually "cook" and get mushy. Fabulous, and THANK YOU for this one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: ABBEYBABY
Love this recipe as is, have made it often, but as a variation I add a little minced fresh garlic and onions to the butter, sugar, salt, pepper & basil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: SARAHWILKERSON
These were wonderful and looked absolutely beautiful! I used frozen whole green beans (16 oz), 1 cup of halved grape tomatoes, increased the fresh basil to 1T, and added more salt. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Jharmon27
Yum! I thought these were excellent...a great way to get your vegetables in. I did what another user suggested and crumbled bacon on top and it was great! Will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: naples34102
I omitted the sugar on purpose and the basil because I forgot, but these were still delicious without either. I chose to use fresh minced garlic rather than garlic salt, but I do think that would have been just fine too. I think 10 minutes cooking time is far too long - test after 5-6 minutes. I used Haricots Verts and five minutes cooked them to the "just tender" stage I prefer. (I hate crunchy "cooked" vegetables) Less cooking time, no sugar, and fresh minced garlic elevates this to a 5-star rating.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: kalice
Good recipe. I halved the butter and it was plenty. Next time I will use less sugar as it was a bit too sweet for my taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: carolinagirl268
Great recipe for a dinner party. Looks beautiful on the plate. Also quite delicous.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes