My Reviews (147)

Easy Garlic Pizza Base

This recipe uses a bread machine's 'Dough' cycle to produce a garlic-imbued pizza base. The recipe can be doubled to make two pizzas.
Reviews (147)


31 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Tanaquil
Update: Wow! I love this recipe! I have made this recipe probably 30 times, no kidding. Homemade "pizza" (actually cheese bread, no red sauce) has become a Sat. lunch or dinner tradition at our house. While I have tried several other pizza crust recipes on this site, this one remains our fav and the one I keep coming back to. The printed recipe card in my recipe box is so worn and tattered that I need to print a new one! I almost have it memorized. Also, wanted to say that 6oz. of liquid is 3/4 of a cup, according to my pampered chef liquid measure. Original review:I love that you can make the dough in the bread machine. I did add a little parmesan cheese as the machine was mixing it, and that helped it come together nicely. I then left it in the frig overnight and make it today for lunch for my boys. I made a cheese bread instead of traditional pizza (my 8yo doesn't like the red sauce).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Lindsey Niezgocki
I made this recipe using 2 cups of whole wheat flour instead of bread flour and I used the pizza dough setting on my bread machine. After rolling it flat and letting it rise a bit I swiped it with Olive oil and a little fresh garlic and sprinkled cheese on top. The kids LOVED it with some marinara dipping sauce! We'll definately make it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: TUFFGUYINLA
Disappointingly lacking in garlic flavor, and a dense, chewy texture. Sorry, but if you're going to make your own pizza, it deserves better than this. Leave the garlic out of the crust altogether and put it on top where it belongs. Or, if you must, try brushing the outer edge of a good, unflavored crust - before or after baking - with a mixture of fresh minced garlic, herbs (oregano, parsley, basil...), salt and olive oil and/or melted butter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: KLCCRAFTS
Very yummy -- great garlic flavor! I've tried a couple other pizza crusts in the bread machine in the past but they always tasted bland. Not this one. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and it still turned out great. I also skipped the kneading by hand and resting. My machine has a "pizza dough" cycle, so I assumed that would be sufficient, which it was. I used a generous amount of olive oil on my hands and the crust when I spread it out to avoid any issues with stickiness as mentioned in another review, although the dough didn't appear to be overly sticky to begin with.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: KIMI4
This recipe is a great one. I doubled the recipe and it worked out really well. I will use this one again. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: RMIELKE
Great base for pizza. I increased the garlic by about 6 cloves -very yummy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: BEARSTER
Yummy!! Very easy and user friendly. I have used the garlic and another time did not. Both great. It works great on the barbeque also.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: CORLA
This is a terrific pizza crust recipe. We eat pizza several times a month and we always use this recipe. I usually don't use all the garlic the recipe calls for because my oldest son keeps the smell on his breath for two days. (smile) This is a soft and flavorful crust.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: DDRevia
Was very light and delicious. Would recommend this recipe for any pizza or even the breadsticks that are so popular.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Roxanne J.R.
Since I have no bread machine, here is how I made the dough by hand. METHOD: Combine 1 1/2 cups flour, yeast, sugar and salt in a bowl. Mince garlic cloves with olive oil in mini food processor. Add lukewarm water (110 F) and oil/garlic mixture; mix until well blended. Add in the remaining 1/2 cup flour. Dough should form a ball and will be slightly sticky. Turn out on a floured surface, adding additional flour if you find it necessary (but not too much.) Knead until smooth and elastic. Grease a bowl with oil, put dough ball in bowl, turning it over to coat the whole ball with oil. Cover bowl with plastic wrap and place in warm place to rise for 30 mins. *TIP FOR RISING (can use with any yeast dough): Microwave a cup fill 1/4-1/2 with water till it is very hot, leave cup of water in microwave and place covered bowl inside, close the door. The steam provides a warm environment for the dough to rise. Works for me every time. After dough is finished rising, pat into pizza pan (using a bit more flour as necessary) and then I followed the recipe from step 3. MY REVIEW: I did not have bread flour so I used All Purpose flour, I used 3 large garlic cloves and it provided an okay amount of garlic flavour. Not overwhelming but not extremely detectable. I minced my garlic in my magic bullet with the olive oil so it would be more well incorporated. I used this as the base for Basic Beef Pizza (recipe on this site) and it was a delicious combination. Would make again. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes