My Reviews (27)

Fresh Basil and Balsamic Garlic Salad Dressing

Homemade salad dressing is a big improvement on supermarket ones. This garlic and basil dressing is delicious and very easy to make.
Reviews (27)


17 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: texascook
Okay I really hate to give a recipe a bad review espically if we just didn't care for the "outcome" of a recipe. This dressing is very thick, and very strong. It really over powers the flavors of the salad. Not what I expected from a vinaigrette. But with that being said I am going to give it a higher rating because it is awesome on grilled chicken and pasta. I didn't want to throw it away so I mixed it in with some left over pasta, grilled chicken, and parmeasean cheese. It tasted almost like pesto but lower in calories and fat. So give it a try on your pasta and skip in it as a salad dressing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
This is VERY thick as written. You have to play with the ingredients as stated. I had to keep adding vinegar and oil to this plus a bit of sugar to get the desired taste and consistency.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: CookinginFL
Everyone loved this! Had with a simple salad of romaine lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, carrots, and celery. Did not make any changes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
Since I scaled this down to just two servings, I was unable to prepare this using a blender as there wasn't enough there to work with! So I chopped up everything real fine, then put Hubs to work with a mortar and pestle, which did the trick nicely. As I slowly drizzled in the olive oil it came together into a nice, rich emulsion. This was really good - both the fresh basil and garlic are evident, but neither overpowers. It is thicker than the typical vinaigrette as some reviewers commented, but I had no problem lightly dressing the salad with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: MISSROBIN28
This is an EXCELLENT salad dressing, but it IS very thick. As I was pouring it into a 'Good Seasons' bottle, I took a cue from that tried and true recipe and added a bit of water. Just 2T was enough to make it smoother, but still hearty enough to cling to the greens. I look forward to trying it on pasta. Also, taste before salting. I opted to completely leave it out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Chef in the Making
This vinaigrette was delicious! I loved the balsamic vinager in it! and the basil gave it a very fresh taste!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Dana Leon
This was great. I'll never buy a store brand again!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Beverly
As a salad dressing, way too thick...as a spread for grilled chicken, roasted peppers, fresh mozzarella and baby spinach on whole wheat hoagie rolls, absolutely delicious!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Pam Miears-Ennis
Incredible fresh flavor, but I do grow my own basil. I used that, sea salt and fresh cracked pepper corns. I found it is awesome on chicken too, especially if you add two tablespoons each of minced onion and red sweet pepper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: heidij
Very good, I added about 1/4 cup of brown sugar, to cut the vinegar a bit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes