My Reviews (26)

Eggplant Parmigiana Pasta Bake

Eggplant baked with three cheeses and penne pasta makes for a hearty and substantial vegetarian dinner. Serve with crusty bread and a green salad.
Reviews (26)


13 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: SuzanneR
This is the best ziti I have ever made. The only chane I made was to use canned whole tomatoes rather than a prepared sauce, and I dressed the tomatoes up in an Italian seasoning and added a tablespoon of oil. This had just the right amount of cheese and sauce. Almost forgot: I had to cook it longer than 45 in order to get the cheese golden and the eggplant soft. Depending on your oven, I guess--it's more like 1 hour and 5 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: LawBabe
This was my first time cooking eggplant and I think it went really well! What attracted me to eggplant is how much cheaper it is than meat and still satisfying. This reminds me of lasagna, and I like that this dish includes pasta so it is more filling. I made a few changes. Before doing anything, I preheated the oven to 350 to "pre-cook" the eggplant. I beat two eggs in one bowl and had another bowl of Italian bread crumbs. I dipped the eggplant slices in the egg and then in the crumbs, and then put the slices on a baking sheet. I cooked the eggplant in the oven for about 10 minutes on each side so that it was a little crispy and would hold up better. Then, when layering it all together, I added a layer of cooked fresh spinach on top of the sauce but underneath the eggplant. I left out the egg in the cheese layer, because I had already dipped the eggplant in egg and I just figured that was enough. I didn't miss the egg from the cheese layer, it was plenty rich. I used two jars of sauce for this, because I like a good amount of sauce and other reviewers said it was dry with the recommended amount. And I added some sauteed onion and garlic to the tomato sauce. Mine really came out amazing and I can't wait to make it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: mlb126
This was a very good alternative to a more traditional eggplant parmesan. My husband and I would have liked a little more sauce so keep some extra on hand if you enjoy lots of sauce too. Also, I did not salt the eggplant for a full hour (or overnight) but more like 20 minutes and it still turned out fine. We had this with a big salad and there were plenty of leftovers for lunches.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: hurricaneaden
My husband is a huge meat eater, so I diced the eggplant up & breaded it with Italian bread crumbs in order to give it more of a meaty texture. I added some mushrooms, onions, tomatoes & zucchini to the bottom layer. I used whole wheat pasta & left it out of the layers because I had accidentally over cooked them over the stove & didn't want them to get anymore soggy in the oven. I just served the Eggplant Parmesan on top of the noodles like you would spaghetti. The cheesy layer on top of the eggplant & other veggies was delish! Will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: teamfitch
Definitely add more sauce to this! Overall the taste was great, but it was a little on the dry side.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: lbethc
Eggplant was blah. The rest wasn't exciting. Not to mention we had WAY too much leftovers for 2 people. Will not be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: bellablue
A great way to use eggplant! I admit to being a bit nervous about not cooking the eggplant first but, if you slice the eggplant very thin, no need to worry. They cooked beautifully with the ziti. Aside from using about twice more sauce than the cook suggested, I followed this recipe exactly as written and it was a huge winner for me. Thank you for sharing!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Leby
I made this without draining the eggplant, and it didn't turn out soggy at all. The texture was nice, and it made a good hearty meal with garlic bread. My only complaint was that it needed a lot more zing than just the marinara sauce. I will definitely try this recipe again, but I'll add my own seasonings, herbs, and probably some extra veggies for more flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: DEBBYIAC
This was really good, the next time I will cut up the eggplant in to small pieces and mix everything together more like a traditional baked ziti. i will make this again!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Angie
it came out okay def a good dish but my motherr messed it up because she had the wonderful idea of soaking it in salt water for an HOUR and then she rinsed and patted it dry and i made the rest when it came out of the oven it was fine except the eggplant was soggy SOOO DONT SOAK IT IN WATERRRR unless if you like soagy eegplant il be making this again without the help of my mother of course haha
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes