My Reviews (24)

Date and Almond Fruit Bread

This fruit bread recipe is simple to make in a bread machine. It's not only high in fibre and vegan, but delicious as well.
Reviews (24)


29 May 2009
Reviewed by: Tara Kreider
I do not have a bread machine but it still turned out perfectly. It's a very moist, tasty bread. All it requires to omit the machine is putting the dry ingredients together, including the dates (I used dried and pitted rather than fresh), and then adding the water/oil/honey/yeast mixture (after the yeast has been activated) to it. I kneaded it for about 10 minutes and then let it rise twice for about an hour each time in our microwave with a cup of boiling water beside it to help it rise. Baked it at 350 for ~35 minutes or so. Great bread! I'll make another batch soon!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: Dreaming
I make this bread at least once a week, it's a good source of fibre so you can pretend it's healthy if you leave out the nuts. It's highly sweet, so watch out if you haven't got a sweet tooth. The recipe is easily adapted to incorporate other dried fruit such as pears or figs. If you want to be able to find any chunks of date in the bread I'd recommend ignoring the beeps and adding the fruit only about two minutes before the end of the kneeding, otherwise the blade tends to just smooth them into the bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Suzygrasshopper
Amazing. I added a full cup of chopped up dates right at the beginning so the kidlets wouldn't see "things" in their bread. Turned out amazing tasted great lightly toasted with peanut butter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: TW
This recipe is fabulous! I don't change a thing. I buy a big box of dates and bake several loaves at once to slice up and freeze. It's great toasted with a little butter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Very good flavor and just the right amount of sweetness. I'll make this bread again, but next time I'll add just a little more salt. I made this in a bread maker on the dough setting adding the dates & almonds after about 27 minutes, but I rolled the dough out and placed it in a loaf pan for the second rise. It only took 23-25 minutes to bake to a golden brown at 350°.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: MACKALLEN
This bread rose very well, considering that it's got wheat flour and oatmeal. I really like the sort of fluffy texture of the crumb too. It's also got just a hint of sweetness to it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Kerry...USA to NZ
We loved this bread. I did use raisins and sunflower seeds for the fruit and nuts and it was lovely. Thanks for the post.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Nawal F
The bread was a success , but it wan't as sweet as I would like
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Debbie Clift Russ
Love, love, love this recipe- make it all the time. Flavor is so amazing - I use dates & sunflower seeds. But - every loaf falls in the middle.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2010
Reviewed by: Veggiebee
I have had this recipe saved forever and I finally made it. It is delicious. Moist, hearty, faintly sweet and so easy with the bread machine! I left my almond a little on the bigger side of chopped and I get a nice crunch every now and then. It's lovely.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes