My Reviews (108)

Cinnamon Stick Chai

Homemade Chai without all the artificial flavours. Use tea bags, vanilla essence, a cinnamon stick, whole cloves and ground spices. All simmered until well steeped.
Reviews (108)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
RAINLOVER1 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. My first batch was made just as the recipe suggests and to be honest I was NOT impressed. For my second batch I made these changes. 1) Boil all ingredients (except milk) for 10 minutes 2) Simmer (lid on) for 25-30 minutes 3) remove from heat and let sit for another 30 minutes (lid on) 4) Squeeze any water out of the tea bags and strain the whole mixture. This leaves you with 1-1.4 cups of concentrate. In case you didn't notice, I omitted the milk completely. My end result tastes a bit stronger, and sweeter.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
JDVMD said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I have made this with splenda instead of honey and I also used whole cardamon pods as I had them and soy milk which I love. Would drink it cold in summer. Thanks Heather!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Wylder
Great chai! A touch of sweetness, but not overly sweet. A perfect blend of spices!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JOHN WHEELS
An excellent recipe! Takes moderate effort but the results are worth it. I am not a big fan of the honey flavour and will experiment with sugar next time. Thanks for the great recipe, though.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: DNAVATTA
This was very good both hot and iced and a good way to enjoy the benefits of tea and milk.
 
16 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: SKIDZ7
I really like the Chai from Starbucks. They actually sell the concentrate there (Tazo Brand) for about $5 per carton. I bought it and liked it, but figured I'd try making it myself. My first batch was made just as the recipe suggests and to be honest I was NOT impressed. For my second batch I made these changes. 1) Boil all ingredients (except milk) for 10 minutes 2) Simmer (lid on) for 25-30 minutes 3) remove from heat and let sit for another 30 minutes (lid on) 4) Squeeze any water out of the tea bags and strain the whole mixture. This leaves you with 1-1.4 cups of concentrate. In case you didn't notice, I omitted the milk completely. My end result was a concentrate similar to the Tazo concentrate available at Starbucks, but it actually tasted BETTER in a side-by-side comparison. It tastes a bit stronger, and sweeter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Christine
Just tried this, and it's very good. I used fresh ginger, ground cinnamon, and one cardamom pod, FYI. If you are getting a bitter drink, try leaving out the tea until after the water has boiled, then adding the tea and letting it steep off heat for 3-4 minutes. Boiling tea brings all the tannins out, and they are terribly bitter. Next time I will probably add more of all the spices, and add black pepper, since I like my chai robust. But the recipe is very good as is, and much better than forking over $4 for a box of concentrate at the store. (I'm leaving out the milk and keeping the spice/tea/honey mix in the fridge for chai emergencies!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: yum2001
A quick tip for all those spices that is difficult to strain - tie up all spices, including the ground spices, into a coffee filter and a twist-tie from bread bags; add the spice bag to the water to boil for a good 20 minutes. I add orange peel and peppercorns to my spice bag. Tea is supposed to be steeped, not boiled, so after the spices are boiled with the water and honey, I turn off the heat and add the tea bags to steep. After the tea has steeped to my preferred strength, I remove the tea bags. Then I add the milk and bring to a light simmer and then immediately remove from heat. ONLY then, do I add vanilla, as vanilla looses a lot of its flavor when boiled. I've seen this exact recipe on an Indian website several years back. Still good, though, and as close to what you can find in an actual coffee shop.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: KIMAR
Great chai! A touch of sweetness, but not overly sweet. A perfect blend of spices!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: JANRHEA
I love this recipe. It is just what I was looking for. I made it even easier by using store bought Chai tea bags instead of the plain black tea bags. This way you do not have to add all the spices. Just add the water, honey, vanilla and milk. Tastes just like the expensive kind you get at the coffee places.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes