My Reviews (79)

Chocolate Chip Loaf

This is a simple cinnamon scented loaf enhanced with melt-in-your-mouth chocolate chips, made in the bread machine.
Reviews (79)


13 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: MelanieGallon
Light, fluffy and delicious!
 
14 May 2012
Reviewed by: zee-trip
my dad used to make this many years ago and lost the recipe. this is the closest we have found since! loved it then still do now and so dose my son and husband
 
02 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Keesha
Super-de-duper recipe! Perfect texture for this type of bread. I am not quite keen on cinnamon for my own personal tastes I cut the portion in half. I used frozen chocolate chips, not room temperature to avoid them melting. Instead of adding them at the add-in cycle I put them in during the very last knead. I will absolutely fix this again...this week no doubt! I used the regular setting, 2 pound load, with medium darkness. I use a Breadman machine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2000
Reviewed by: SUCCESSION
Be careful if your bread maker's "add fruits and nuts" beep rings early! Mine does, and thus the machine was too hot and melted all the chocolate chips. The resulting chocolate bread was very delicious so I am definitely willing to try this again. If it doesn't work out again and I get no chocholate CHIPS, the resulting bread is still so good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Mary-Lynn
I wanted chocolate chip cookies but my cookie sheets are packed away as I'm in the process of moving. My bread making stuff was still accessible so I figured I'd give this recipe a shot. I may never make cookies again this bread turned out so moist and perfect.The only thing I changed a little was I added a heaping teaspoon of cinnamon and probably a few more chocolate chips than the recipe calls for (I didn't measure, I just tossed them in at the beep). I also added a bit more flour during the first kneading cycle because the dough was more like a batter at that point. A lot of chips settled to one side of the pan where the kneading didn't quite get to them, which left a nice crust of chocolate on one end, but next time I'll watch the time more closely to try to get the chips in just before the second kneading cycle (when my machine beeps for additions) so the chocolate chips might mix a bit better. I had my chocolate chips in the freezer, which may have helped a bit. Since I would have loved this information when looking at reviews, my bread machine is a Sunbeam 5891 and the fruit/nut beep seemed to be right on.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: AliceWakefield
I had to add 1/2 cup more flour, but this turned out wonderful. A big high loaf with a soft cake-like texture, it's great for dessert or peanut butter sandwiches. I also added a few drops of vanilla extract, increased yeast to 2 teasp. and used 1/2 cup each of chocolate chips and peanut butter chips.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: AURORACITA
I made this for my family, and my mother liked it very much. My young sister, however, disliked it and said that it was 'too bland'. I enjoyed it, but next time, I'd wait until after the add-in beeper to put the chips in because the beeper went off too early and all the chips melted.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Ilovemy4kids
We love this one!! Compared to the other recipe which uses twice the butter but less 1 tbsp of brown sugar and yeast, I think this one has the more spot on measurements. I have no bread machine so I did the kneading on my KA. I let it rise 3 times, and my bread baked up so high and fluffy. I had to use 1 cup more flour, but that is because our weather here is so humid. Baked it in the oven at 350 for about 35 minutes. I added a little cocoa powder in place of the cinnamon, and will increase the cocoa to 1tbsp because we love chocolate here. Mmm. Thank you for posting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: ITSURCHOYC
This is a great bread for anyone desiring a bit of chocolate to satify a sweet tooth. The kids like it and the moms in my neighborhood say,"I could eat the whole loaf by myself".
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: MADISONLIBERTY
This bread is wonderful! Turned out perfectly! Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes