My Reviews (27)

Eggplant Polenta Chips

Eggplant is sliced into chips, then battered and fried. The polenta gives these a nice crunch.
Reviews (27)


25 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: Jennifer Harrison
Bland, but much better with extra salt, pepper & garlic powder added to flour mixture. I had extra zucchini so "french fried" it as well; it turned out FAR SUPERIOR to the eggplant. The zuccini was a HIT WITH OUR 5 YEAR OLD!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: LLSWEET22
Pretty messy to make, tasted pretty good but bland and not worth all the effort in my opinion. Maybe would be better with some spices added to the cornmeal/flour coating.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Ayanaya
This tasted good using StoveTop cornbread stuffing (processed finely) instead of the flour mixture, and had a lot of flavor. I cut them in 1/2 inch thick circles instead of julienne-style, and used mayo for dipping. Even my 12-year-old and 3-year-old liked them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: beej143
much better with italian bread crumbs with parm cheese added....and since they get more of an italian twist this way try dippin them in a maranara sauce!!! let me know what u think!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: bethinchina
With ranch, these were okay. They're bland otherwise. They were incredibly messy to make. Maybe a deep fryer would work better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: aggie4300
A kid favorite at our house. We where shocked!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Goomba314
Very overated.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 May 2009
Reviewed by: ejenny
I'm not an expert cook by any means, but the breading was somewhat bland and the oil combination caused a ton of smoke in my house. The eggplant tasted ok after we added an excess amount of cayenne and salt and pepper..
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Middleagedcookingguy
Limp, greasy. Sorry
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: msrod85
I agree they were bland. We added lots of extra cayenne, some adobo and allspice and they tasted a little better. The eggplant underneath the batter was good. They definitely need some kind of complimentary dipping sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes