My Reviews (91)

Roasted Pumpkin Wonton Ravioli with Sage Butter Sauce

This is an easy recipe with rich flavours. It makes a great dish for entertaining. The ravioli is made of wonton wrappers and can also be made ahead and frozen.
Reviews (91)


22 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Clarissa
I've prepared this recipe several times and it is always a hit. I've replaced the butternut squash with sweet potatoes and have also combined the two and it always turns out fantastic. I also bake the ravioli's for a few minutes before serving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: KERIS1172
I only used one wonton with a teaspoon of filling and folded into a triangle. I had a lot of filling left over that put into the freezer to make again. My Husband kept saying how gourmet this dish was.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: CHAMBY06
The idea of the recipe sounded wonderful. I was experimenting with making my own pasta so I only used the recipe part for the filling. I found that the squash flavor was completely overpowered by the spices added. If I ever attempt to make butternut squash ravioli again, I would significantly cut down the spices or just add brown sugar and let the squash stand on its own in the ravioli. I love butternut squash and I feel that this recipe was a waste of a very nice vegetable.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: LUTEGRL
This recipe was great! Based on other reviews I added two finely portabella mushroom caps to the squash mixture and used only one wonton wrapper per ravioli (about 1 tsp of the squash mixture). Instead of the Sage brown-butter sauce, I made my own gorgonzola cream sauce with thyme. My friend who hates squash loved this recipe! Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 May 2008
Reviewed by: Hot Chilli
I had some Pumpkin Ravioli in the freezer so decided to use the Brown Butter sauce in this recipe. I found it to be very rich. Could only eat half the ravioli I would normally eat (but maybe thats a good thing!!!). The sage flavour didn't really come through the butter but it was nice when you got a piece of crispy cooked sage with the pasta. Would use again as a starter but not as a main course.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Karol
The filling and sauce was awesome but I actually didn't like the wontons (too thin, they fell apart, see the pic I posted) and would make my own dough for this ravioli next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Jules
I wanted to make home-made pasta for the first time for my boyfriend over the holidays, and because he likes butternut squash soup so much I decided to try this recipe. OH MY GOSH I was not expecting it to be SO good!! I was skeptical about the sauce at first, but made it anyway to stay true to the recipe and I'm glad I did. My boyfriend loved this recipe so much that he bought me a pasta roller for Christmas so that I would make it again for him.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2008
Reviewed by: apollocooks
My husband made these for me last night after I challanged him to make butternut squash ravioli. Since grilled cheese and burgers are more his style, I thought this turned out very well! I agree with other posters, the butternut squash taste is a bit overwhelmed by the spices but if you use a light touch I think the filling works quite well. We balanced with an a light alfredo sauce and it was yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Carole B.
I really liked the ravioli, but next time think I will add some chopped mushrooms to the squash for a little additional texture. I used a fork to crimp the edges after sealing with egg white. Followed the advice to put boiled ravioli in oven ... but be sure to lightly grease the cookie sheet first to avoid sticking. I covered mine with a sheet of sprayed foil too so they lightly steamed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: luna
I made this recipe and it turned out great. I agree, it is a dish that is easy, yet your guest will be impressed with. I added a pict or two of mine on this site. I sandwiched my filling between the wonton wraps and used a wash of corn starch and water as a sealer, then cut them out using a round scollop edge cookie/buscuit cutter. The only spice I used in my filling was a pinch of nutmeg & salt and a little grated parm, corse black pepper and some finely chopped parsley. Don't skip the sage in the sauce...it makes the flavor's pop! I would recomend this recipe, for a side dish or pasta course with pork, a salad or green vegetable & some good bread, for a simple but great meal for dinner guest's or, just for your family!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes