My Reviews (102)

Bread Machine Wholemeal Buttermilk Bread

A very soft bread made with buttermilk and a mix of wholemeal and plain flour, baked in the bread machine.
Reviews (102)


12 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: MommyFromSeattle
Very good and one of the easiest bread recipes I've come by. One negative is the yeast amount should be increased to 2 1/2 teaspoons. I followed the recipe the first time and it took way too long to rise. I did NOT use a bread machine. If making by hand, just throw all the ingredients into one bowl and mix. No need to proof the yeast, it will still rise (make sure yeast is fresh). I've kneaded this both by hand and using a dough hook for a good 5 min. This dough comes together well and is not sticky, so kneading by hand is a cinch. Instead of using extra flour when kneading, which can toughen and dry the finished product, spray your hands with PAM or oil and knead that way. No sticking and no extra flour needed. I let this rise in a warm oven until doubled, then rise a 2nd time in a (9x5) loaf pan. Baked at 350 for 20 min. Brush with butter when it comes out and cover loosely with foil to soften the outer crust. Great crumb and texture. I will make again. TIP - I use 2 cups white flour and the rest wheat flour. As a general rule, I always add one tablespoon powdered gluten for every cup of wheat flour I use in any recipe. This keeps the bread nice and chewy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: DSULTEMEIER
This bread came out very nice. Instead of using bread machine I mixed all the ingredients together in a stand mixer, let the dough rise and then baked in the oven at 350 in a loaf pan. I used white wheat flour so came out very light colored.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Michigan Mommy
This bread is wonderful! I put the ingredients in the bread machine set to dough cycle, after it finished I put the bread into a 9 by 5 load pan, let rise for 30 minutes, and then baked in the oven (350 degrees) for 27 minutes, I had the timer set at 30 but pulled it out a few minutes early, it probably could have baked the entire 30 minutes and turned out fine. It almost has a sourdough taste to it but it is very soft and light. I love it and so does the family! Can't wait to make some sandwiches with it. Just for clarification I used reduced-fat cultured buttermilk that comes in a little jug like regular milk. Thanks for this great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
If I didn't have a favorite Italian bread recipe I generally use this recipe could easily become a staple. I thought it was short on salt and yeast so I increased both without straying from the recipe too much - 1 tsp. salt and two tsp. yeast. I kept the measurements of all else the same but used bread flour for the all-purpose flour by accident (it's called making assumptions and not reading the recipe carefully - again). In any case, this is all you'd want in a basic, everyday bread. It rose, baked and sliced nicely and has great flavor (I DO think it needed that extra salt). I'm not a big fan of whole wheat bread, much preferring white bread, so this was perfect for me with its mere 1/3 cup of whole wheat flour. So if you're thinking this is a hearty whole wheat bread, choose a different recipe - or use this one, with half whole wheat flour and half all-purpose (or bread flour). No matter how you slice it (ha!) this is a great bread, one of the better ones I've tried from this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Jim McConnell
This has become one of my very favorite bread recipes. My family and friends can't seem to get enough of it. Sometimes I substitute 1 package of Lipton Onion Soup mix for the salt to make a great-tasting onion bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Anna Marie
Great recipe ! I drink buttermilk but didn't have any on hand, so I added one tbsp white vinegar to the milk - instant buttermilk ! Also used honey instead of sugar. First time using my Breadman - my husband and daughter really enjoyed it. Thank you !
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Tanaquil
This bread was awesome! I added a hand full of cheese to the bread machine. My boys ate the whole loaf. Delicious and yummy, thanks for the post (we ate this with the Roast Lemon Herb chicken recipe on this site).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: COOKIN4MYFAMILY
This made a beautiful, light-textured, perfectly shaped loaf of bread. I have a 25 lb. bag of bread flour, so I subbed that in place of the all-purpose flour. Another reviewer recommended 2 1/2 tsp of yeast which I followed with excellent results. I will make this again when I have extra buttermilk, however, my personal preference would be that this recipe needs a little more salt. I usually make breads with more whole wheat flour, but I think the ratio of white/wheat in this recipe makes for a really nice light texture. I made this using the bread maker dough setting, then I rolled it out, let it rise in a regular loaf pan, and baked it at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Jennifer
I don't usually have buttermilk in the house, so a lady I work with told me to buy the powdered buttermilk. I used(with the correct amount of water that the buttermilk powder called for) it and it seemed to work fine. Overall,I wasnt really impressed with this recipe, considering that it got 4 stars. Maybe I should have used real buttermilk. I also am never really happy with anything I make with my breadmaker. So who knows!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Heather C
I love this bread! I love the tangy flavor from the buttermilk. I used bread flour instead of all purpose and it turned out soft and fluffy. I also used 1 tsp salt and 2 tsp yeast. Such a nice loaf and a great way to use up my buttermilk.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes