My Reviews (40)

BBQ Spring Onion Potatoes

A great summer side dish to throw on the BBQ. These potatoes are baked on the BBQ with butter and spring onions.
Reviews (40)


12 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
Simple and delicious - a great side dish for grilled steak. I cut the recipe in half and sprayed the inside of the foil with a bit of Pam so nothing would stick. I used seasoned salt vs. plain salt and although you could add various herbs and spices to this I think less is more.....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Bronte
Pretty darn good and very easy to make. They can stick to the foil so extra oil or butter is required. Also, I like them with regular onion and bacon bits. Just prior to serving, I use the uncooked chopped green onion, so that they look fresh instead of dried up and browned.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: VRWEAVER
I used new potatoes instead and it turned out very well, except I used too many, so they didn't all touch the bottom of the foil and get crispy edges.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 May 2011
Reviewed by: bellepepper
Sorry, but I wasn’t impressed with this one at all. My experience has told me that anything cooked in a foil packet is going to steam rather than get crispy, and this recipe did exactly that. My hope was that the butter would brown them a bit, but that didn't happen. They were pale and didn’t look appetizing, and I think I'm being generous with my 3* rating. I think this would have been much better if done the way I typically roast potatoes, in the oven, on a baking sheet or in an oven-proof skillet, and left uncovered. I may try again, but not as written.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
Hubs made this for us tonight and it was simple but delicious. He said he enjoyed himself making it too, largely because of the flexibility to be creative with seasonings. The green onions, however, are a must. The submitter is right - they really do contribute a lot of flavor, much more so than just plain onions do. Rather than large baking potatoes, we used baby Yukon Golds, as we love their creaminess and buttery flavor. Hubs seasoned them with Penzey's Shallot Salt and Penzey's Chicago Seasoning. So many different herbs or spices could be used to season these, but I'm sure they're just as delicious as is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: EVEELANE
Very good recipe. I also added a couple of peeled garlic cloves to the packet. Yum Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: GOLFBHARD
I make this often. I go heavy on the onions and use olive oil instead of butter. I also ad a clove of garlic for each individual pack and sometimes frozen green beans. Yummy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: BUZZSAU
These were very good! It might help to spray foil with Pam cooking spray so potatoes won't stick! Also, next time will probably put in more butter and maybe some bacon bits!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: JDVMD
Great potatoes. I have made them with green onions as well as regular onions. Wonderful with steak or sausages on the grill.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: kenny1ram
Just a suggestion on the name, bbq isn't an accurate description, maybe 'grilled potatoes' would be better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes