My Reviews (63)

Baked Potato and Bacon Salad

A cheesy potato salad with bacon and green olives. The difference? It's baked for extra special flavour. This makes a great side dish.
Reviews (63)


23 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
Wonderful salad that tasted just like a "baked potato" with all the fixin's! I used red skinned poatoes and left the skins on and since to type of onion was specified I used green onion as it's mild in flavor and pairs well with baked potatoes. I used Hellman's light mayo cutting it with a bit of sour cream and like others I chose to used shredded cheddar cheese instead of Velveeta. I mixed in some of the bacon and left some to use on top. I left out the green olives and chose to use chopped fresh chives on top instead along with the rest of the bacon - YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: CAROLARTZ
This is a fantastic recipe! I used 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 mayo, shredded cheddar, and omitted the olives. I can hardly wait to serve it again! I think I might try it with the olives next time, just to see how it is. This recipe is a definite keeper! Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
Sooooooooo delicious! My family went nuts over this. Because my kids don't care for olives, I left them out and because I don't care for processed cheese, I used shredded Vermont cheddar instead. Great make ahead side dish for company!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: KA22277
I make this all the time for family gatherings and there is none left to take home. I get the cheese from the deli and have them slice it thick. I also omit the olives and double the bacon. I mix half of the bacon in the salad and cover the top with the other half.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: SLS73
Artery cloggin' heart stoppin' good! I used cheddar instead of Velveeta like others suggested and I replaced the green olives w/ green onions. Yum!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: DEBKELLE
Absolutely delicious. I have made this exactly as the recipe stated and have also made a "mashed" version omitting the olives. I then serve it with eggs for breakfast. Great for camping. I made this for a potluck and literally had to give the recipe to 8 people! A great hit. Hint: Use Best Foods Mayo for the best taste or use grated cheddar cheese. Yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: SARAH FROM IOWA
The chunks of Velveeta in this recipe make for some nasty bites, so if I make this again I'll use shredded cheddar instead. I think it would be pretty tasty that way. I also omitted the olives.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: RKP
I loved this recipe. I used shredded cheddar and omitted the olives. This tasted just like the twice baked potatoes I make that takes 4hrs or more.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: amydoll
This recipe needs some work. First, the velveeta didn't melt very well. Next time I'll use cheddar. Second, the green olives don't mix (and I love green olives). Also, there was not enough dressing. Next time I'll use some sour cream as well. I'd like to try this again but I'll remake the recipe with my changes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2000
Reviewed by: JTJW2277
I used low fat velvetta, low fat hellmans and low fat bacon. This recipe was still very good and I got lots of good comments.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes