My Reviews (8)

Alu Baigan - Potato and Eggplant Curry

Alu Baigan is a West Indian curry made with potato and eggplant which is served with roti or rice and kadhri. This is a great vegetarian dish.
Reviews (8)


10 May 2007
Reviewed by: yams
Followed this recipe exactly and it was DELICIOUS! im of indian heritage but had never made anything with eggplant before..but my husband asked me to make this...was happy to find the recipe here and he was raving about the taste. so that is proof that it was good-cause he's a good cook himself. tastes best with some fresh whole wheat chappatis and so healthy too! yum! thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Heather P.
I saved the dish eventually, but I had to doctor it soo much, it wasn't recognizable from the original recipe. Sorry, but I'll find another recipe next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: k
This was such a hit with my boyfriend that his eyes lit up at the first bite! I decreased the amount of oil and substituted 1 tsp of ground mustard (added with the other spices) for the seeds. I also only had about half of the garam masala and caraway seeds on hand. But it was delicious anyway!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Tracy
Loved it! I used the small Indian eggplants. I served this to Indian guests and was told that the flavor tasted very authentic. Try it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: JordanHilarie
This recipe has great flavors, but the eggplant gets very squishy, giving the dish a weird texture. We're having trouble getting ourselves to eat the leftovers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: desicook
Not good at all. I was leary about using the soy sauce as I have never seen it in an Indian or Pakistani dish before, but made it as written. Perhaps without the soy sauce it would be good, but the soy sauce really didn't go with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 May 2009
Reviewed by: Ragnhild
Great dish! I didn't have mustard seeds or caraway seeds at hand, but it still turned out great. Will definitely make it again, perhaps without potatoes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: jackie
Loved it and easy to make
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes