My Reviews (830)

Cinnamon Loaf

A cinnamon cake is a great treat to accompany a morning cup of tea or coffee. This is an easy to make recipe that never fails.
Reviews (830)


16 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: SNOWAYNGEL
After reading the reviews for this recipe I was a little nervous about making it. It seemed as though people either absolutly loved or just outright hated it. But I was feeling adventurous and I personally love cinnamon so I thought I'd give it a go. One word, Fantastic. I did change a few things though. Instad of dumping all the ingredients in a bowl and mixing away, I combined the dry ingredients and the wet ingredients separately, then mixed the dry into the wet slowly. Then I took the advice from some other reviewers and doubled the topping and put half of it in the middle of the cake. Instead of using 2 tablespoons of white sugar, I just used one and added a tablespoon of brown sugar which worked very nicely. I baked my loaf in a glass pan so I had to add about 15 minutes to the baking time. The bread rose wonderfully and it had a beautiful crackly top. It was deliciously moist with a great cinnamon flavor- not bland at all like some other reviewers said. It reminded me of something I might buy in a coffee shop. Definately give this bread a try.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: Chef Joy
HELPFUL TIPS AFTER MAKING THIS FOR SEVERAL YEARS: Worried that other reviewers said this was bland but needed to rid of the buttermilk, so i tried it anyway. Here's what I did & it came out w/much love from my family! 1st, Grease pan! Definitely mix dry FIRST then liquids in separate bowl. Hand mix only until ingredients are mixed!!!!!! For topping: I double it replacing white sugar with brown sugar. Put half of it in the middle, swirled that w/fork. Put the rest on top. GREAT STUFF esp. when you run into one of the swirls. Next time I will DEFINITELY triple the topping (half in middle, rest on top). My husband HATES sweet things (never eats frosting or sweets), and think it will by no means make it sweet but give a NORMAL amount of swirl in a "cinnamon type bread" you get at the store. Update: I ran out of buttermilk & instead used 1T of lemon juice & filled the rest of the cup with milk & it came out the same (also an acceptable substitution). Raisins also work well in the recipe but not needed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: DONNA
With small modifications, this is a great recipe. First of all, since it's a quick bread, you MUST mix the dry and wet ingredients separately. Do not beat the batter for three mintues; instead, mix the dry and wet ingredients lightly until the batter is just combined. Keep in mind that the struesel is not a topping...it sinks into the cake. I doubled the struesel (using brown sugar instead of white) and sprinkled some in the middle of the loaf. Also, consider using something bigger than a loaf pan, or else place a cookie sheet one rack lower than the loaf pan to catch the "drippings." Would probably be beautiful in a bundt pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
This is a perfect little breakfast or tea bread. Delicately spiced with cinnamon, moist and with a just right sweetness that makes it a good choice as the submitter states, "for a little something beyond the usual to start your morning," or just anytime with a cup of coffee. I liked the idea of doubling the topping, and using half in the center of the loaf, and I was pleased with the results. For those who complained this was dry, boring or bland, my first thought is that it's not the recipe's fault but maybe that they're baking this too long and/or expecting cake. This is a delicious, not too sweet quick bread. Also, for those who thought the topping failed, it does not--this is not a streusel topping, which would include flour. This topping creates a pleasantly sweet, pebbly top. Thanks for sharing the recipe Carol!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: Rebslo
Very easy to prepare, good results. I wish I had read the reviews and doubled the topping before I made the bread though. Needs a bit more cinnamon/swirls. I also used the milk/vinegar trick!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: CSANDST1
This was very good. I used no-fat buttermilk; low fat margarine for the topping and replaced 1/2 the oil with applesauce and I cut back on the sugar to 3/4 c. Still very tasty and moist. Will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: JENVINCE
This bread was simple to make and delicious! Moist and all around yummy! I like to put a small swipe of butter on it. I did find that after the recommended 50 minutes, it was still gooey in the middle and so I did bake for an additional 10 minutes. Changed the bake time to 60 minutes on my recipe card. Other than that - de-lish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: JOLDEROG
I followed the advice of other reviewers and doubled the topping, putting half in the center of the loafs. I baked mini loafs and plan to give them as gifts. Also, I baked the bread in stoneware and the pan made a huge difference, the sides of the bread were a light golden brown. Great recipe - thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2000
Reviewed by: GINNYG
This was a huge hit with my husband...and i loved it cause it was so easy...we ate it hot with butter. this is a keeper...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2000
Reviewed by: BARBIE0492
Bread was very good - especially heated. I also added a powders sugar glaze when it was warm. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes