My Reviews (99)

Moroccan Chickpea Couscous

This recipe is nicely tasty and great with a tagine or is fine on its own. If you have some ras-el-hanout on hand you could use an equivalent amount of that instead of all the individual spices. Serve the couscous with slivered almonds.
Reviews (99)


23 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Shannon
Wonderful! Sure to impress your guests at a dinner party - looks quite impressive once served. Don't omit the chopped mint, it is the perfect finishing touch to this couscous! Great melange of flavors, textures and colors. The exotic combination of spices is a true feast for the sophisticated palate. This was a huge hit with my boyfriend (a very picky eater) and my best friend loved this too and she once lived in Morocco! A success!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Lindz
This was very good with the rest of the moroccan dinner I was serving - it went over very well. If you happen to be able to get your hands on ras al hanout season blend, you don't have to worry around with all the different spices - just use a tablespoon of that, and then add the ginger. Places like Cost Plus carry it really cheap!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Cherrychip
This dish is delicious and very quick to prepare. I am vegetarian so I replaced the chicken broth by adding the juice drained from the garbanzos to enough water to make 1 1/2 cups liquid and adding some vegetarian chicken style seasoning. I also added 1 tsp. curry powder, 1/8 tsp. garlic and increase the allspice to 1/2 tsp. since I did not have the cardamom or coriander on hand. Instead of orange juice, I use water with 1-2 tablespoons of fresh lemon or lime juice and leave out the orange zest. I did not think I would like the raisins in this, but they added a nice bit of sweetness and blend nicely with the flavors of the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Ita
The spices were good but I needed to add a little balsamic for additional flavour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Fiestaqueen
Im only a teen and i cooked this up for my family. It was absolutely delicious and everyone was very impressed.It has a spicy, unique flavour to it which made it so addicting. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: danube66
Very good recipe. Next time I would decrease the broth and couscous to 1 cup each, though - i thought there was a little too much of the couscous compared to the veggies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: nickandsue
Lovely recipe. I prefer the courgette and pepper to be about the same size as the chick peas, but otherwise lovely.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
13 May 2006
Reviewed by: MSROOTZ
We didn't care for this. We liked the spices used but the flavor of orange was too strong and the vegetables could be cooked longer before adding the couscous, but that could just be personal preference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: t.j.dykes
loved this dish, will cook it when we have guests I'm sure they will be impressed and think I can cook!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
09 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Kym Cox Surridge
I LOVED this, but my boyfriend didn't care for the orange. I thought all the flavors blended perfectly and were surprisingly subtle. I loved the contrasting textures of the creamy garbanzos and the crisp veggies, plus the occasional sweet bite of raisin. I used fresh ginger (which I added with the beans) and vegetable broth, and I caramelized the onions (after toasting the spices, I removed them and then added them back in with the peppers and zucchini). This is definitely a keeper for me as is, but I'll try it with 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice, a bit of honey, and some lemon zest, and I'll adjust the broth accordingly and see if my boyfriend likes it that way (although I don't think the lemon will go as well with the flavors of the spices).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes