My Reviews (231)

Easy Ciabatta Bread

Ciabatta is a fantastic slightly sour Italian bread. You don't have to use a baking stone to cook the bread, but I like to.
Reviews (231)


20 Jul 2016
Reviewed by: BruceWhite
Iagree with Graham T very poorly laid out in the recipe stage
 
16 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: GraemeT
I am at the starter part of the recipe. The only thing I would ask is that the ingredients list is separated into starter and then bread. Just to stop any confusion. I just used the first 4 ingredients for the starter. I hope this is correct.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Nikki
This was the best bread I've ever made! I prepared the sponge two days in advance and kept it in the fridge. I cooked it on a pizza stone and basted with water every 5 minutes for a brown, crunchy crust. The parchment did burn a little around the edges while baking, but it was reminiscent of an old Italian bakery.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: TRIANA
a little hard to handle but the results were excellent
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: SAM DONALDSON
Great tasting recipe, and a good airy texture to the bread. Very, very, very sticky.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: TRC43
The easiest 'real sourdough' recipe; those without 'aging' of dough lack the genuine ciabatta taste, even though they may get the consistency right. This one gets even better with more than one days aging of the 'sponge'.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MORIAH BENGE
My husband and I celebrated our 11 year wedding anniversary with friends and an Italian meal. My husband had visited Italy and collected recipes when we were there, the only one missing was a bread recipe. It was a little involved as far as prep time but it was easy,GOOD, and tasted just like what we had eaten during our trip! I will make it again. For 15 people I made 6 loaves with enough left over for dinner the next night.
 
14 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Nikki Sell
This was the best bread I've ever made! I prepared the sponge two days in advance and kept it in the fridge. I had no problems with it being too sticky like others mentioned. I cooked it on a pizza stone and basted with water every 5 minutes for a brown, crunchy crust. The parchment did burn a little around the edges while baking, but it was reminiscent of an old Italian bakery. See my picture -this bread is perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: TRC43
The easiest 'real sourdough' recipie; those without 'aging' of dough lack the genuine ciabatta taste, even though they may get the consistancy right. This one gets even better with more than one days aging of the 'sponge'.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Gitana
I cannot tell you how AMAZING this bread is. 3 loaves were gone in under a day and a half! It is crunchy on the outside, soft and moist on the inside and filled with all these lovely bubbly craters! I replaced the milk with water and just baked on a greased and floured baking sheet and it was still wonderful. I cannot rate this recipe highly enough. I served with olive tapenade and caprese salad for appetizers and it was wonderful. My fiance and family could not get enough of it! They beg for it EVERYDAY. Will certainly make again and again and again! First, the sponge is amazing. Tastes just as good after only sitting for a few hours as it does after 24+. I made it once and left it for 24 hours in a cool place and that made nice fluffy bread without many air pockets. The second time i made the sponge I left it right next to a warm stove top and it rose very quickly and made these HUGE air pockets in my finished product. I only left this for 4 hours but the taste and texture were FANTASTIC and the sponge almost spilled over the rim of the bowl! It was a bit difficult to get out of the bowl because of its stickiness but that was to be expected. For those that thought the sponge needed water, it doesn't. It will look just like a clump of dough in the beginning but if you leave it you'll be pleasantly surprised with a bubbling, frothy, sticky sponge. Secondly, I made this recipe cautiously because I expected it to be very difficult to handle, but it was not.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes