My Reviews (488)

Baked Potato Wedges

Heathier potato wedges baked in the oven. This recipes uses onion and garlic powder but you can use other seasoning or even dried herbs.
Reviews (488)


06 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: claire03
Great seasonings in this recipe. I rated 4 stars because I made some changes - we boiled the potato wedges for 7 minutes before seasoning them and putting them in the oven for about 15 minutes. This makes for a great texture. It's mashed potatoey goodness inside, with a crispy outside. You cannot ask for anything more...great texture and less bake time with the par-boil technique.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
Pretty tasty. I used sea salt. I did cook them for a little longer, only because we like them a little crispier. I served these with my Zesty Ranch Dip. No leftovers. Next time, I'll double the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: BECCAP
absolutely delish! i must have cut some pretty thick wedges because they took about 50 minutes to be crispy on the outside and soft on the inside, but the proportion of spices and cheese is perfect! strange how such simple ingredients create something so flavorful, but we really enjoyed this! thank you
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Minnesota_Girl
I just mixed it all up on the cookie sheet - no need to use a plastic bag. Ohhh, make sure to spray the cookie sheet with Pam or something so they don't stick! Great recipe, very good very easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Baricat
Loved the technique and the texture of the potatoes, so 3 stars. However, the garlic powder and onion powder ruins the taste for us. Those two ingredients appear in so many commercial products, which is why I believe people don't mind them, or actually develop a taste for them. I was raised a second-generation Italian, and we never even had ersatz ingredients like those in the house. When we wanted garlic or onion flavor, we used garlic or onions. As a consequence, I can't stomach the flavor of artificial stuff. Instead, rubbing the cut potatoes with a cut clove of garlic and a cut onion will give a far superior flavor. That said, it's brilliant to combine the oil, Parmesan, salt, pepper and any other spices you like in a bag and shaking the potatoes is a very neat, no-fuss way to dress them before roasting. We eliminated the garlic and onion powders, replacing them with finely chopped rosemary and basil from the garden. Boo-ya!!! Great flavor that will complement any roasted meat or poultry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Katy Hopkins
WOW!! These were by far the BEST potato wedges I've made!! I've tried several different recipes and never been thrilled, but this one was fantastic! I used about 8-10 petite red potatoes and cut them up into small thin pieces. I baked them on a foil lined baking sheet for 10 minutes, stirred them around and baked them for another 12. DELICIOUS!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: peterd
I've been making a similar version of these for years. Quick, easy, delicious. A couple of quick extra steps makes them even better. After cutting into wedges, blot excess moisture off with paper towels. This helps to more evenly coat potato wedges with oil and seasoning. Also, stand wedges on the skin side in the pan. You won't have to turn them,and they will cook more evenly. Unless you forget they're in the oven, this recipe is almost impossible to ruin!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Mary J
there are really yummy. i also used sweet potatoes too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Cheesecakemama
These are really good. I took them out at 20 min,because they were going to get done before my chicken. I put them back in the oven and finished them off the last 15min with my chicken after I flipped them. Just a little longer than called for, but I wanted some crisp. Great wedges!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Scotdog
We loved these. My husband wanted pan-fried so we did both. To hubbies surprise everyone liked these more. Simple & good. Don't overload the pan & I did flip halfway.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes