My Reviews (67)

Crunchy Chocolate Biscotti

Biscotti take some time to make but the results are really worth it. They are great as a food gift as well as with afternoon coffee.
Reviews (67)


Comment:
21 Jul 2008
Julie said:
Used different ingredients. I love this recipe! I have made the biscotti 3 or 4 times for my boyfriend because he is a coffee and chocolate freak and he eats them up every time! I have never added the almonds as I never seem to have any around, but the last time I made these I added about half a bag of chocolate chips to the dough and they turned out extra chocolatey!
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: sirenadabat
these are wonderful. For christmas gifts i drizzled white chocolate over them and dipped the ends in chocolate with crushed nuts for the non coffee drinkers.. they are perfect everytime
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: LAURADJ
I love this recipe. These biscotti have been a BIG hit with my friends and family. I have brushed them with plain chocolate for a dark and rich flavour. The dough is very very sticky, but I found it easier when I added a bit more flour and kept my hands floured. The end result is worth it.
 
20 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: robbiejuve
These were great but I warn everyone doing this recipe......Step 4: "Turn them over and bake another 15 minutes or until very crisp" I baked mine well over 15 mins each side trying to get them "very crisp" to the point of almost burning them but I found that they didn't crisp at all in the oven. However as soon as they cooled down, they turned rock hard as desired so just a warning, the words here are misleading. Bake 15 mins each side and forget about them being crisp, that will happen when they cool down.
 
09 Aug 2014
Bit messy but came out great I used hazelnuts & dark Chico chip
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2008
KILROY said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I made these for Christmas and they were elegant, beautiful and yummy!
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2008
beemer said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Turned out great. Thanks for the recipe. I left out the almonds becuase i had everything else on hand, and it was still good. I cooked it 15 minutes one way and 22 longer. They turned out super crisp and crunchy!
 
22 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: HONEYWINE01
I'm a well-seasoned baker, but I had major trouble with this recipe. I found it spread much too much, and even with a good serrated knife they were very difficult to cut. After two attempts I'm writing this recipe off as a disaster not worth trying again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: Jan
I love this recipe. These biscotti have been a BIG hit with my friends and family. I have brushed them with semi-sweet chocolate for a dark and rich flavour. I have aslo tried adding cherry extract and snipped and well drained maraschino cherries for a mild 'black forest' effect. The dough is very very sticky, but I found it easier when I added a bit more flour and kept my hands floured. The end result is worth it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: <3
Because this dough was so sticky I found it was easiest to work w/ when you keep a bowl of water next to you to wet your hands with while you handle it. I combined the dry ingredients first and then mixed in the wet ingredients last & my dough didn't spread out like other reviewers mentioned... it held its shape just fine. I did take it out of the oven after about 20 minutes to cut it and mine didn't crumble on me, but it think if I had left it in for the whole 30 minutes the edges would have started to crumble when cut. I also reduced the sugar to 1 1/4 cups instead of 2 and it was plenty sweet. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes