My Reviews (441)

Portuguese Sweet Bread

Made in a bread machine this is a really easy sweet bread that uses a simple recipe with ingredients that are in most cupboards.
Reviews (441)


Comment:
14 Jul 2008
Something else. Great tasting bread and texture. I don't use a bread machine since I don't think the texture comes out as nice as oven baking. For people without machines, this recipe couldn't be simpler. Warm the milk and add the sugar and the yeast. Stir and let sit for about 15 min. to proof (the yeast will foam). Then add the foamy yeast mixture to the rest of the ingredients and mix. This dough is easy to mix by hand so you really don't need the mixer. The dough will be sticky. So after mixing, cover and let it sit in the bowl to rise 1-2 hours. Punch down and let rise again or form into rolls at this time. Super quick and easy. If you want a sweeter, richer bread, increase sugar to 100g and add one extra egg yolk. If makikng one large loaf, bake for about 30-35 min. at 190.
 
Comment:
14 Jul 2008
Something else. This bread is wonderful. I'm kind of picky, I hate the way bread machine bread comes out. So I add the ingredients and set it to the dough cycle. Then I put the dough in my loaf tin and bake at 180C for 20 minutes, turning half way through. It comes out absolutely gorgeous. It is wonderful toasted. My boyfriend loves it. I no longer buy loaves of bread from the store, I simply bake this bread on the weekends. Thanks for the recipe!
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MEOW2U
If you REALLY want to taste sweetbread at it's absolute best, try buttering one side of a nice thick slice and frying it in the frying pan.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: RMN4
Our entire family has been loving this bread! Not too sweet, with a nice medium/light crumb - simple recipe just as it is! I just use my kitchenaid mixer, let it rise 1 hr., punch it down & shape it, let it rise again 15 min. and bake! (rolls are my favourite) Dough freezes superbly after 2nd rise, then pull them out anytime for baking.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Cindy Hall
Wonderful bread and so easy. I tried it buttered and cooked in a fry pan as another reviewer suggested. Then I drizzled honey on it and it was simply incredible.
 
08 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: MommyFromSeattle
Great tasting bread and texture. I don't use a bread machine since I don't think the texture comes out as nice as oven baking. For people without machines, this recipe couldn't be simpler. Warm the milk and add the sugar and the yeast. Stir and let sit for about 15 min. to proof (the yeast will foam). If it doesn't foam, your milk probably wasn't warm enough. Then add the foamy yeast mixture to the rest of the ingredients and mix. This dough is easy to mix by hand so you really don't need the KitchenAid. The dough will be sticky. So after mixing, cover and let it sit in the bowl to rise 1-2 hours. Punch down and let rise again or form into rolls at this time. Super quick and easy. If you want a sweeter, richer bread, increase sugar to 1/2 cup and add one extra egg yolk. If makikng one large loaf, bake for about 30-35 min. at 375.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: WeirdAuntMartha
This bread is awesome. I'm kind of picky, I hate the way bread machine bread comes out. So I add the ingredients and set it to the dough cycle. Then I put the dough in my loaf pan and bake at 350° for 20 minutes, turning half way through. It comes out absolutely gorgeous. It is wonderful toasted. My boyfriend loves it. I no longer buy loaves of bread from the store, I simply bake this bread on the weekends. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: SANDRALYOUNGER
I have made this with skim milk, whole milk, and half and half, it comes out tasty every time. I tried egg nog once and it was disgusting. I use butter instead of margarine. The first few hundred loaves I made I used Red Star bread machine yeast and the results were better than with regular yeast. The difference is a bigger fluffier loaf of bread. I used Mediterrainian sea salt a few times but it seemed to make no difference. I have made this with cold egg and milk and it comes out the same as having the ingredients at room temperature. The loaf comes out big and my biggest problem was storage of a gargantuan loaf of bread. A couple of things worked out. First, you can slice it up and put it in a couple of zip lock bags. Second, you can store it in a Renolyd's oven cooking bag. This bread makes excellent toast(oh,yes), French toast, stuffing, sandwiches, and bread crumbs. It has a sweet flavor. It is addicting, so be careful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2005
Reviewed by: RMN4
Our entire family has been loving this bread! Not too sweet, with a nice medium/light crumb - simple recipe just as it is! I just use my kitchenaid mixer, let it rise 1 hr., punch it down & shape it, let it rise again 15 min. and bake! (rolls are my favorite) Dough freezes superbly after 2nd rise, then pull them out anytime for baking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: PATTY DEL BELLO
Absolutely the BEST bread ever out of a bread machine. I did not alter the recipe whatsoever...and it turned out perfect. It's the first bread I've ever made that actually has a "yeast" smell, as well as the taste. Please share any other recipes of this nature! Thanks a million!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes