My Reviews (35)

Spicy Green Beans

Green beans are anything but bland in this recipe. They are sweated with garlic, ginger, chilli and oyster sauce for a Chinese style side dish you will love.
Reviews (35)


22 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: JMW707
This dish was fabulous. I didn't have fresh ginger so I substituted ground ginger and I added more than a "pinch" of red pepper. This was so good I made it three days in a row.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: APCOOKING
This is good! A nice change and an interesting way to use green beans. Because of what I had on hand, I made some alterations -- ground instead of fresh ginger; pinch 'a cayenne instead of red chile pepper; and omitted the oyster sauce. Still a good side dish, and I will make again. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: sakuraiiko
Less soy sauce next time, too salty, but husband LOVED it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: LynnInHK
Excellent, just like the way restaurants serve them, although in the restaurant version the beans are deep fried first until the skin's shriveled. I only used 2 tbsp of oil and added a spring onion along with the garlic and ginger.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: SERRA_G
This was a very spicy and flavorful dish. You may want to adjust the red pepper to your own tastes though. My version turned out a little too spicy for me. I'll definetly make this again, but with less pepper next time!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: Debsdolls
Great, easy recipe! But I think of it more as a vegetable side dish, rather than a salad. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: VONJACKIE
This was a nice change of pace from regular old green beans. I served this with Thai Style Chicken Pasta (from this site) which made for a nice spicy meal. I didn't use the oyster sauce and I used frozen chopped green beans, but it still turned out great. I will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: American Abroad
Really very good! I recommend using a light soy sauce, though. Fresh ginger is a must, in my opinion. I'm going to try this with other green veggies as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: OFFHERROCKER
Disappointing, I will not make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: TECHNOKILT
Not amazing, just pretty good. Made double and it went mighty fast with 7 people eating. Put in red chili flakes but not enough to give it more than a little flavour and left out the oyster sauce as I discovered I didn't have any in the kitchen. Better than just steaming them by far.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes