My Reviews (167)

Spicy Chilli Jam

I tasted this at my local shop and wanted to replicate it. This recipe is very easy to make - use green or red chillies. It's fantastic with any hard cheese.
Reviews (167)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
LG said:
Used different ingredients. I am a consummate chilli jam maker...so I will tll you how I make this wonderful recipe. I use 6 cups of sugar. Add a tbsp. or 2 of butter just before you put the certo in...it keeps the foam down. Also I do not remove the seeds. Just put all the chillis into the food processor and grind finely. I do not stain...so the final result is more like jam than jelly. I boil for a few minutes after adding the pectin...about 3 to 5 minutes. It 'jells' beautifully and is delicious.
 
01 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Kayebo
This is delicious - couldn't purchase liquid pectin so used jam setta and it worked perfectly. Yum!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
TJW2 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. The liquid arrived at in step 2 has been changed to 1 cup. We have updated this recipe to change the amount of the yield. It should be 2 (250g) jars instead of 4.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
Dalgoat said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I made this to give for Christmas presents (and to use up jalapenos from my garden), when I took a jar to my sisters house to test it out, the whole jar was eaten and I have people begging to be put on my Christmas List! It was fabulous! I left the seeds in all of the jalapenos (except the last four that goes in at the end), and it was hot, but that's what everyone loved about it! Great recipe! Thanks! Already planning on making a few more batches for gifts and for us!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: KVA1223
I love this stuff! I pick up chilli jam at all the craft fairs and bazaars, but it gets quite spendy. I didn't realize that I, too, could make such a wonderful jam. The recipe (after corrected by Allrecipe Staff) is easy, tasty and excellent. Thanks for sharing, Sue!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
ZTIRDA said:
Something else. This recipe is WONDERFUL!!! I have made it twice and followed it exactly. I did get more than one cup of juice but it didn't seem to make any difference in the preperation. When I added the cut up jalapenos I had to shake the jars several times after it came out of the water bath as it was cooling. If I didn't do this they all stayed at the rim and didn't disperse through the jeam. The colour is great if you don't push it through cheese cloth just let it drip naturally. Thanks for a real winner!!ps I just won 2nd place at the county fair with this recipe!!
 
17 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: raearendt
I am a consummate pepper jelly maker...so I will tll you how I make this wonderful recipe. I use 6 cups of sugar. Add a tbsp. or 2 of butter just before you put the certo in...it keeps the foam down. Also I do not remove the seeds. Just put all the peppers into the food processor and grind finely. I do not stain...so the final result is more like jam than jelly. I boil for a few minutes after adding the certo...about 3 to 5 minutes. It 'jells' beautifully and is delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: squishy
I made this for my husband. He loved it. I didn't strain the jalapenos before adding the pectin, so it was more of a jam. My hasband said that the only thing it needed was more spice. But that was my fault because I removed *all* of the seeds and ribs before blending. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: the allrecipes staff
The liquid arrived at in step 2 has been changed to 1 cup. We have updated this recipe to change the amount of the yield. It should be 2 (8 ounce) jars instead of 4.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Rita Lynn
Great!!!! I had to make some modifications being diabetic. Here is the recipe with splenda. SPLENDA’ sugar free Yield 2 pints Same ingredients as above except: sugar & pectin • 1 box sure jell for no sugar recipe (mix with ¼ cup real sugar) set aside • 5 ½ cups splenda: set aside • 1 ½ cups water DIRECTIONS 1. Same as above 2. Same as above set aside for the moment 3. Use large pan: Add water, to this add the sure jell with sugar added stir, add peppers. Bring to a full boil, boil 1-3 min. Stirring constantly 4. At this point add 5 cups of splenda and stir till dissolved. Continue on with step 4. I did the peppers as for a jam,I did not strain.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes