My Reviews (23)

Fennel Stew with Chickpeas

This is a delicious vegetarian stew with its tasty mix of fennel and chickpeas. You can use fresh or frozen peas.
Reviews (23)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
LILSPICE said:
Altered ingredient amounts. The flavour was delicate, and I loved this soup. When I made it, I doubled the amount of garlic. I am a huge fan of fresh fennel, fresh basil, and chickpeas. However, if someone did not enjoy even one of these ingredients, they would not like this soup. I found that 1 cup chopped fresh basil is equal to about four ounces. Be sure to chop the fennel and the onion; being lazy here makes the soup look rather sloppy (this happened to me). Also, this soup makes 17 cups, so the 6 servings is a generous estimate. (Per 1 cup, there are 125 calories, 2 g fat, 21 g carb, 6 g fibre and 6 g protien).
 
26 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: pjpayne70
I really enjoyed this, although I agree it is a soup rather than a stew. My husband gave it a 4 out of 5 (he liked the bite to it with the cayenne), but my teenage daugther thought it was bland. I will cook it again.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
naples34102 said:
Made it vegetarian. I agree with previous reviewer - if you don't like fennel, chickpeas or basil, you are not going to like this. Fortunately, I do, and I liked this alot. I was surprised how well the flavours complemented each other, especially the fennel and peas. Oh, to save time I used canned chick peas, and I also added a little V8 tomato juice for more flavour. Thanks, Ornery!
 
16 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: ellengray
I also found this very bland (and yes I like all the ingredients). I was looking for a different way to cook fennel so tried it, but won't use again.
 
08 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: grimo1re
Was more like soup than stew. I found a bit boring, won't be making it again.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
ERSLZ said:
Used different ingredients. This soup is wonderful! I halved it and still had way plenty for 2 of us for 3 meals. I couldn't get dried chick peas, so I used canned (1 large or 2 regular size). To accommodate this change, I sautéed the onions, red capsicum and fennel for a few minutes in a little olive oil, then added 4 cups of veg stock and simmered for 15. I added the canned beans (juice and all) and the tomato/garlic/basil mixture and finished for 5 minutes. Not only does this work well, it takes far less time and planning! I'll make this again for my vegetarian friends.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: TiredMomtoSIX
Oh my goodness! This was so delicious, I'm almost at a loss for words. My boyfriend the soup junkie is my litmus test for soup recipes, and he loved this. I'm not sure I'd agree with other reviewers that you wouldn't like this if you didn't like fennel--I thought the flavours blended seamlessly, with no one taste standing out. However, if you don't have fresh basil and/or fennel, don't even think about substituting dried; it wouldn't even be close to the same stew.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: TAYLEEGRACEFEDDERSEN
Very different, but totally interesting. At first I was not sure what to expect, but it turned out well. This recipe is great as is, and for me is an absolute keeper.
 
25 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: THINTATHRAIEL
The flavor was delicate, and I loved this soup. When I made it, I doubled the amount of garlic. I am a huge fan of fresh fennel, fresh basil, and garbonzo beans. However, if someone did not enjoy even one of these ingredients, they would not like this soup. I found that 1 cup chopped fresh basil is equal to about four ounces. Be sure to chop the fennel and the onion; being lazy here makes the soup look rather sloppy (this happened to me). Also, this soup makes 17 cups, so the 6 servings is a generous estimate. (Per 1 cup, there are 125 calories, 2 g fat, 21 g carb, 6 g fiber and 6 g protien).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: judy
This soup is wonderful! I halved it and still had way plenty for 2 of us for 3 meals. I couldn't get dried garbanzos, so I used canned (1 large or 2 regular size). To accommodate this change, I sautéed the onions, red pepper and fennel for a few minutes in a little olive oil, then added 4 cups of veg broth and simmered for 15. I added the canned beans (juice and all) and the tomato/garlic/basil mixture and finished for 5 minutes. Not only does this work well, it takes far less time and planning! I'll make this again for my vegetarian friends.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes