My Reviews (28)

Tomato and Chickpea Soup

You can either puree this soup and serve it thick and smooth or leave the chopped tomatoes and chickpeas whole for added texture.
Reviews (28)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
JUDIWOODS said:
Made it more kid friendly. I was so pleased with this quick find -- very simple and clean kind of recipe. I threw in 1/4 c star pasta to grab my kids' attention. With fresh parmegan or romano, it would be a lovely first course. I will keep this one close by to use again -- delicious. Thanks, Lizzie!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
MONKAREE said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I have to say three stars because although I used the basic recipe, I also added my own touches...I like to use less water, maybe 1 1/2 to 2 cups, I also added 28oz can crushed tomatoes instead of the diced, more garlic of course, and this goes really well with couscous, and chicken breast pieces fried separately in garlic...that way you can also make the meat eaters happy, and bump this up to a meal.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: AMAJ0
I love it. I replaced the bullion cube with 2 tbs of Minors Vegetarian Consonmme Prep (chicken style) from soupbase.com. Great flavour and enjoiable hot or cold. I will add another can of tomatoes next time.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: A_STEITZ
I liked this stuff, but it's not good for a big crowd. I don't think too many people like chickpeas.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: AmyNBobby
Bismillahir Rahman ir Rahim This was pretty good. I reduced the water to half and served over rice. Next time I would throw in some cumin, but this definitely was super-quick.
 
19 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Amber
I subbed fresh dill for the rosemary. This was quite good. I also simmered for quite awhile to soften everything up
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
15 Mar 2009
borsuk said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I added 1 medium onion and 1 teaspoon of smoked paprika
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
14 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: FAERIEWYLDCHYLD
I have to say three stars because although I used the basic recipe, I also added my own touches...I like to use less water, maybe 1 1/2 to 2 cups, I also added 28oz can crushed tomatoes instead of the diced, more garlic of course, and this goes really well with couscous, and chicken breast pieces fried separately in garlic...that way you can also make the meat eaters happy, and bump this up to a meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Rick
The soup was great but i decided to tweek it a little. I first sauted the oil, garlic, tomatoes,and chickpeas in a non-stick frying pan for 20 minutes to reduce the juices from the tomatoes. I then placed the tomatoes and chickpeas in the sauce pot and added the remaining ingredients. Finnally I added a little shredded roast chicken and i was in heaven.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: FMM1
So it is the new year and I gained too much weight over the holidays. Found this healthy, low cal soup and decided to give it a try. I loved it! Great taste for something so easy. I used chicken broth instead of water & bouillon and added 1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper. Also threw in a little orzo. Even with the orzo, it was still very low cal. A great start to a new year.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes