My Reviews (27)

Zucchini, Chocolate and Rum Cake

Very moist zucchini cake with a nice aroma of rum. The cake has little surprises of chocolate and walnuts spread throughout it.
Reviews (27)


18 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: 4greenmc
This cake is very tasty and stays moist without having a heap of butter. I didn't use the walnuts as my husband is allergic but still tastes great. First time I made this I used choc buttons but they were too heavy and sank to the bottom. I then used choc chips but they just disappeared in the cake. Finally I used choc drops and they were best. I quite like the rum icing but cake is also nice without it or just plain icing.
 
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Tanya Duquette Bamrick
We all loved this. I used 1/2 c rum in the cake because of the other reviews that said you could not taste it with the 1/3. We enjoyed it. I thought the glaze was going to be too strong when I first made it but it mellowed nicely overnight.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: SANDY313
The zucchini does make this a very moist cake. It is very tasty as chocolate cakes go. The rum in the cake itself is pretty much undetectible, but in the glaze it is overpowering. Next time I would skip the glaze and just dust with powdered sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Tina
We all loved this. I also used 1/2 cup rum in the batter, but only 1 tbsp and the rest water in the icing. The whole thing was eaten including the crumbs. It is a very rich and dense cake. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Mother Ann
Really, really good! This cake came out very moist. Nobody would believe there was zucchini in it. This could be a new favorite of mine!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: MoreCoffeePlease
I made this for a big family gathering yesterday and never told them it had zucchini until after they ate it. Everyone was so suprised. They loved the cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Captain Ironspine
Moist, but not too moist. Perfect chocolate flavour. Added additional 3/4 cup of flour and used 1/2 cup of rum for high altitude baking. Cake is tastier the following day. Thank you for recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: cmthomas66
Super good and moist. I didn't have any white rum so I used Captain Morgan instead and I used a different Butter/sugar/rum glaze.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: JBARBIAUX
Followed recipe exactly. Cake was raw in the middle. I had to keep putting it back in the oven for about 30 minutes extra...total of 1.5 hrs. What a mess.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: WINIE76
I added only the confectioners' sugar on top instead of the rum/glaze and I put Quik instead of cocoa powder. It was good, I would fix it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes