My Reviews (130)

Zucchini and Chocolate Cake with Orange Glaze

This is a wholesome cake with zucchini, chocolate, walnuts and a great mix of spices topped off with a tangy orange glaze.
Reviews (130)


13 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: m.ortlipp
This needs some refining in the area of size of ring tin to use. I used one I had which is a standard size ring tin. The cake mixture overflowed the tin, the top got too crisp as I had to extend the cooking time by 20 minutes. It took almost one and a half hours to cook. Please specify the size of the cake tin to use. it would also be useful to include time and temp for a fan forced oven. I did not use fan forced but might do so next time - if I bother to try this again.
 
05 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: az_starshine
I never liked zucchini in anything until I tried this cake. It was moist, succulent, rich, and just downright decadent. I had two pieces of this right out of the oven and I could only finish part of them. After my brother lost his homecoming game last night in a miserable defeat, a slice of this phenomenal cake cheered him right up. This is a SPENDIFFEROUS recipe and I'm never trying another for zucchini cake again. Thanks for sharing Ani!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: THOLBROOK
I wasn't sure how my husband would like this cake - not usually his kind of thing - but he LOVED it. I was pleased with how moist it turned out and I loved the hint of orange flavor. The only substitutions I made were: applesauce for 2/3 of the butter, and Splenda for 3/4 of the sugar - just to make it a bit lower in calories. This is a wonderful cake - thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: CAPITAL
Nice hint of orange. I used 1 cup of sugar with 3 Tbs orange juice for the glaze. Easier glaze without having to cook it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: ROBYNBNB
This is the best zucchini cake I have ever had. I used 1/2 the sugar, added 1 cup of coconut. I meant to add some orange extract to the cake but forgot so I added it to the chocolate ganache I poured over this wonderful cake. Will make this again!! *Update* I had no butter so I used all applesauce and made sure I added orange extract in the cake and the icing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: 98ATKINB
i loved this cake but i found that if you put a bit more orange in it, it tastes better
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Shannon
Extremely moist cake, and super easy to make. I grated the zucchini very finely (as I don't like chuncks of vegetable in my desserts!) and I did press a good deal of the water out of the zucchini before folding it in to the batter (as some other comments mentioned that the recipe turned out really gooey) and it turned out wonderfully moist and soft, not gooey at all. I will totally make this cake again; I'd also like to try it as a loaf for breakfast, with more nuts and some dried fruit, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: BUSYMOM32
Who could not just LOVE this chocolate cake!! I found myself picking at it all weekend, so I had to freeze it so to avoid the temptation! I served this as a desert at a BBQ and it was a great hit. The non zucchini eaters were even fond of it! I made some substitutions however: 1/2 cup pureed prunes to replace 1/2 cup of the butter, only used 3/4 of the requested amount of sugar and finally made less glaze with less sugar and less orange juice. The only thing I would change for the next time is put more orange rind in the mixture!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: JAHLER
Very good, with or without the glaze. It is moist and holds up well for several days. I used three packed cups of zucchini and a bit extra orange.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: DANAYOBST
fantastic recipe. the cake is really moist - even 4 days after i cooked it (alhtough people will eat it quickly). no one cousl guess the 'secret ingrediant - zuchini and you can't even see it in the cake but it makes a great texture and moistness. 2 thumbs up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes