My Reviews (41)

Chicken Curried Soup

You can use your favourite curry powder for this dish-whether it's Indian or South East Asian. I make this as a soup but you can make it a thicker curry by reducing the amount of chicken stock and water by half. Serve with rice.
Reviews (41)


22 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: LuvLychee
This was sooo good. I'm Vietnamese and I've been craving my mom's curry ever since I've moved away from home. Needless to say, this was just like Mom's [don't tell her I said that]! Some additions and substitutions I made to the recipe: instead of lime leaves, I used fresh basil - makes all the difference. No stalks of lemon grass, but I did have chopped lemon grass, added about a tablespoon. For the reviewer who wondered why he/she couldn't eat the lemongrass - that's because stalks are not supposed to be eaten. It's there for flavoring, just like the bay leaf. When chopped finely, the lemon grass isn't as hardy as you chew all the other goodness. Also added a little bit more red peper flakes for an extra kick. Everything turned out so great that I brought some in to work for a buddy and he loved it also. Thanks, Billy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Mai TLP
In Vietnam people don't put bell pepper (or so called sweet pepper or Da Lat papper in Vietnamese), carrot and ginger in the curry. However, you can customize the dish and add many vegetable as you want but this will make it look more like the curry dishes of other countries.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: WSBLEND
this is awesome!!!!!!!!!! I do cut back on the red pepper flakes (like 1/2 tsp.)...the fish sauce smells awful in the bottle, but doesn't make the soup taste fishy at all...the cilantro is a perfect touch at the end. Excellent reheated the next couple of days too. 3-23-07 update...don't substitute LIGHT coconut milk for the regular....yuck....makes it too thin!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: yarnieface
I put this in the slow cooker with chicken breasts. I simmered the sauce ingredients with the onion and chicken all day, then about 1 1/2 hours before serving I added the vegetables (except the potatoes, left them out entirely). I added a couple basil leaves to the broth, and used lemon zest instead of lemon grass because that is what I had on hand. This soup was fantastic, my husband and I loved it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: shaggy
WOW! This soup is excellent! The fresh ginger, lime leaves and lemon grass really compliment the curry and give it that "South East Asia" flavor. It is a lot of work chopping everything up, but if you don't, you'll never get to experience the pure wonder and joy of fresh curry. I went overboard and threw on a handful of fresh bean sprouts as a garnish. This recipe has become my new and final favorite.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: MATORGRAVY
Great soup! I used 2 potato and 1 rutabaga. The store I shop at did not have lime leaves, still wonderful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2007
Reviewed by: NGUYEBT
This was great! Very flavorful and a tad bit spicy. I'm Vietnamese and it was about as good as my mom's. However, I did make some changes to make it more like hers. I didn't have lemon grass stalk so I took another user's suggestion and used 1 tbsp of minced lemon grass. I left out the green bell pepper, lime leaves, bay leaf and cilantro. I did however added sweet potatoes like my mom. By the way, you are going to need a HUGE pot. I had to use two 6qt stockpot to accommodate everything.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: nerdyconnie
DELICIOUS! I loove my family's vietnamese chicken curry and this tastes exactly like how my mom makes! I added a little dash of salt and it brought out the flavors more. i also added sriracha to spice it up. it was perfect! i ate it with french bread. YUMMY! i can't wait to make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: voiceknight
This recipe is a mind blower! The balance of flavors is what strikes you at first spoonfull. Only change I made was from 2 down to a half teaspoon of red pepper flakes. My family can't wait to have it again. Allrecipes is without a doubt the best recipe vault on the web.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: gardenia073
too spicy but really good. next time i will add just 1 teaspoon of pepper flakes
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes