My Reviews (24)

Moroccan Vegetable and Chickpea Stew

This is a medley of vegetables cooked with chickpeas in a flavoursome assortment of herbs and spices. To make it vegetarian use vegetable stock instead of chicken.
Reviews (24)


11 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: LindaWood
Yummy! Although it's a soup more than a stew so I added some basmati rice to thicken it.
 
05 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: aliceland
This receipe makes 8 - 10 servings, especially if it is served over couscous! It adapted easily to a slow cooker: garlic, onion and oil on the bottom (did not pre-cook these), then peppers, carrots and sweet potato. Eggplant around the sides and the tomato and squash on the top--it cooked together beautifully and required only 1 can of broth instead of 3 when cooked this way. I added the garbanzo beans at the very end.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Anne
Really delicious and easy, and it made enough to feed an army--but since I'm cooking for one, it means eight days of lunch (including today). I love how only a quarter teaspoon of spice makes it so flavorful. My only complaint is that it's maybe a little sweet for my taste, but that can be remedied with a little salt. Also, a word to the wise--I'd recommend using normal-sized vegetables. I went all gung-ho on this and got gigantic carrots, and by the same I finished doling the soup out into plastic containers to be frozen, it was all carrots.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Joel & Lauren
We loved this! I used butternut squash instead of eggplant and zucchini, and the taste was wonderful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: hightouch
This recipe was great! Actually tasted very authentic with the exception of not actually cooking in a tagine.. I tried to mimic one of my favorite tagines I had in Morocco, so substituted the eggplant for two large red potatoes and upped the spices to 1/2 tsp. apiece and added saffron. Very good, and definitely feeds an army.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: julebug11
Really great recipe! Perfect for this cold winter night. I made it vegetarian by using vegetable stock instead of chicken stock. I also followed the others' advice: I used ginger, cayenne, and paprika, in addition to the spices listed. I ended up using 1/2 tsp of each (except the cayenne) and I thought it was perfect. And it had just enough kick to it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Gabsmom
This was good! I really love tagine, but had never had a vegetarian version before so I just had to try this. My changes and thoughts: as far as I know, traditional tagine spices are ginger, paprika, cinnamon, cumin, cayenne and saffron so the recipe was missing some - I added 1/2 tsp of each. I used a 28oz can of diced tomatoes (lazy)including the juice and added about 3 cups of shredded cabbage that I needed to get rid of (not traditional, I know but it does such an amazing job soaking up the spices!). I ate this with Syrian bread which I used to scoop the veggies and soak up the broth and it was delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Jaime
good recipe and, yes, makes a lot! I made the following changes: Added 2 chicken breasts cut up(cooked first w/ the onions and garlic); upped the spices to 1/2tsp each and added ginger and paprika (prob. needed more of all spices); no eggplant or green pepper; 2 zucchinis; can tomatoes; some leftover butternut squash with the sweet potatoes; served with quinoa.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Susan
Very good. I, too, added with the other spices ginger, paprika, cayenne, and then I also added curry. I added 1/2 to 1 tsp of each. I also upped the other spices to 1/2 to 1 tsp based on personal preference of each spice. I served it with a side of couscous. Very good. It does make enough for an army so I will be freezing the left overs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: xine
This turned out really well. I threw in some sausage that I had to use up, other than that I didn't change anything. It makes a lot, but you can always freeze some. Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes