My Reviews (120)

Chicken Fried Rice with Thai Basil

This is a great use for left over rice. It is a staple dish in the Thai diet. Adjust the spices to your own tastes.
Reviews (120)


23 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: Olivia Huetter
I made this for my family which includes a toddler so I wasn't able to make it spicy. It still came out amazing, although I always love tomatoes in my Thai fried rice so I added some sautéed with garlic. (I also love garlic). Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: patty per
Put in shrimp
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: Patty Per
Oh my goodness, It's SO DELICIOUS!!! My kids loved it, my Thai friend loved it, safe to say I will making this more often. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: Noreen Lemon
Delicious! The only thing I did different is soy sauce instead of oyster sauce. I used Viet Huong Fish Sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: chad
My wife and I loved it. Super easy to make. My wife wanted brown rice and I wanted white so that's what we did.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: Timothy
Couldn't find oyster sauce. Added curry, soy sauce and Thai chili paste. Fresh Basil really made the dish. Excellent recipe. Will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: Denise Martino
We really loved this recipe! I had to make a lot of changes due to necessity/allergies but that just underscores how great a recipe this is - it is so fantastic because it holds up under heavy manipulation! I do not eat any fish/seafood (not a vegetarian, just don't like fish) so I was concerned that the fish & oyster sauces would be instantly detectable and ruin the dish for me. As the "Most Helpful Positive Review" suggested, I halved the volume of both sauces and I added 2 Tbsp. of soy sauce (I used Rongway's Soy Sauce Substitute found on this site). No fish taste at all, but great flavor. I also used 1/3 cup of peanut oil instead of 1/2 based on other commenters' advice. I used long grain white rice and made a special trip to my local local Asian market but they did not sell Thai basil. They also did not have Thai bird's eye peppers (what kind of Asian market is this???) so I planned to use Sriracha but forgot. I almost didn't make the recipe because so many reviewers were adamant about using Thai basil, but I decided that since I love Italian basil I'd give it a go. I did some research on Thai basil and read that it has a black licorice taste to it, which is a big NOPE for me, so that further cemented my decision to use Italian. My rice was nice and cold, taken straight from the fridge and into the pot...I don't have a wok so I used a Teflon-coated 3-quart stock pot and it was fine. Like I said, many changes but still terrific!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: Emily Lambert
Awesome taste and textures. Added the fish sauce mixture to the wok before adding the chicken. Sadly couldn't find any Thai sweet basil, but the normal basil tasted just fine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: cyncity
I loved it! I added more peppers because I like it super spicy, and it was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: ang
This was delicious! I followed some of the other suggestions such as adding the sauce mixture with the oil prior to adding chicken, also added an additional cup and a half of rice to prevent it from being too "wet". I like really spicy, so in addition I added some Thai chili peppers....what a great dish! I will be making this often!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes